Chapter 1 - James Gale (ca. 1445 - Aft. 1523) of Thrintoft, Yorkshire
Henricus Gale, Mezzotint by John Faber, Jr. after Isaac Whord, 1742 (NPG D2397)
Collection of the National Portrait Gallery
VIII. ROGER HENRY GALE (1672 - 1744), ANTIQUARY OF SCRUTON HALL, YORKSHIRE, & BEDFORD ROW, LONDON, was born in London in 1672. He was the eldest son of Dr. Thomas Gale, D. D. and his wife, Barbara Pepys Gale. Gale was
educated under his father Thomas at St. Paul's School in London and in 1691 was granted a scholarship to Trinity College, Cambridge. He became Scholar of Trinity in 1693 and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and Science degree in 1694, became a Fellow in
1697 and received a Master of Arts and Science degree in 1698.
In 1702 Roger inherited property from his father upon which he built Scruton Hall around 1705 where he and his family lived. On 8/11/1702 he married in York Minster to HENRIETTA RAPER (?? - 9/29/1720), daughter of Henry Raper, Esq. of Cowling Hall,
York. They had two children before Henrietta's death of small-pox at age 43 on 9/29/1720. Beginning in 1705, Roger
represented the borough of Northallerton in Parliament in 1705, 1707, 1708 and 1710 and was appointed Commissioner of Excise on 12/20/1714. He was reappointed on 5/4/1715. He served as commissioner until 1735, after being displaced by Sir Robert Walpole,
who wanted to appoint one of his friends. Despite being inactive during his early years in Parliament, Gale supported a bill to encourage trade with America on 3/17/1708 and continued his proactive role until 1713 when he chose not to run for election.
A prolific writer, Roger's principal works included the Registrum Honoris de Richmond and an edition of his father's Commentary on Antonini Iter Britanniarum, published in 1709 in London. To the latter he added his own notes, distinguishing between his
father's material and his own contributions in the preface. Other writings included a paper on a Roman altar found at Castle Steeds in Cumberland that appeared in 1742 in the Gentleman's Magazine and another on a Roman inscription at Chichester that was
published in Horsley's Britannia Romania. In addition, the Bibliotheca Topographica Britannica for 1781 contains letters to associates and accounts written by his brother Samuel of Northallerton, Scruton.
Roger became a founding member and first vice-president of the Society of Antiquaries and wrote translations for several publications. He was also a skilled numismatist although his primary interest was in British archaeology. He inherited a valuable
collection of books and manuscripts from his father and made many additions to them. He left all his manuscripts to Trinity College, Cambridge, and his cabinet of Roman coins, complete with a self-written catalogue, to the Cambridge University Library. Also
among his contributions were several papers including a letter to Peter Collinson on a fossilized male skeleton found near Bakewell in Derbyshire. His library was purchased by Osborn the bookseller and dispersed in 1756 and 1758.
When he died in 1744 Scruton Hall passed to his son, Roger Henry Gale (1710 - 1768) and then to his grandson Henry (1744 - 1821). Both of Henry's sons had died by 1795, so at his death in 1821 the estate passed to his daughter, Harriet Gale Coore (1789 -
12/15/1839), wife of F. L. Coore, Esq. Following the death of descendant Alban Coore, the estate was sold off in 1953 and the house demolished in 1956. In addition to Scruton Hall, Roger Gale also owned the manor of Cottenham in Cambridgshire, bequeathed
to him by a family friend, Mrs. Alice Rogers, a member of the Pepys family who had settled in Cottenham. In appreciation Roger had a monument built in the church to her memory.
Among Roger's close friends were Ralph Thoresby, who described Gale as a "learned and ingenious gentleman," and the REVEREND WILLIAM STUKELEY who was husband to Roger's sister Elizabeth.
Stukeley shared Roger's interest in antiquarian pursuits and the two made many tours together. When Roger died on 6/25/1744 Stukeley wrote of it in his diary. On 11/4/1744-45 the entry read, Dined with
the Archbishop of York in his journey to town. His Grace told me Mr. Roger Gale dyed with a prophecy in his mouth…Mr. Hill told us he ordered a certain oak tree to be cut down, brought into his
yard, and to be sawn into planks, a fortnight before his death. No one knew his purpose till he dyed, and then a paper was found directing they should dig a grave for him in such a place in the
churchyard 8 foot deep or deeper if the springs hindered not. They should plank the bottom of it with those oak planks. He ordered his coffin to be made of a certain shape which he drew out upon
paper, which being laid upon the planks was to be bricked round the height of the coffin, and a particular large blew stone which he mentioned laid over the whole, then to be filled up with earth and
fresh sods laid so as that it might not be discernible where he was laid, the he might be the sooner forgot, as he exprest it. (Diary of William Stukeley, Vol. VII)
Another entry by Stukeley in January of 1744-45 stated that "Mrs. Gale" [Roger's daughter since his wife had predeceased him] had told him "several more particulars relating to my friend Roger Gale's
death, with whom I have spent so many thousand agreeable hours since 1717, the year I went to live in London, when I became acquainted with him. It appears he had a certain foreboding of his
approaching fate, though he seemed to be in health."
After Roger's favorite grand-daughter died, "he told his daughter, Mrs. Gale, that he himself should be the next carried forth." He purchased an oak tree and had it sawed into planks, 1" thick, that his family thought would be used for a barn floor. On
Monday, 6/18/1744-45, Roger was to visit his son Roger Henry and his wife Catherine Crowe at nearby Kiplin Hall. Instead he felt ill and remained at home where he wrote instructions for his funeral stating that at his death a coffin was to be made of the oak
planks, "without any nails more than were absolutely necessary." He was to be buried at the churchyard at Scruton "at the east end of the quire." He asked that a deep grave be dug next to his grand-daughter, floored with the remaining planks and bricked.
His grand-daughter's coffin was to be placed next to his and both covered with "a great flat stone which used to lye in his dove-coat yard." The grave was then to be covered with earth and no monument to him erected. (Diary of William Stukeley, Vol. VII)
Roger died on 6/25/1744 in Scruton, at 71 years of age and was buried, according to his wishes, on the east side of St. Radegund Church, at Scruton, North Yorkshire, England. Earlier members of this family were also buried there, including WILLIAM GALE OF
SCRUTON (ca. 1490 - 1557). [SEE CHAPTER 4]
Roger Gale's portrait, painted in 1722 by Vanderbanck, was found at Scruton Hall. His arms were pictured on a mezzotint by John Faber, Jr. ARMS: Azure on a fesse between three saltaires argent, as many lions' heads erased of the field, langued gu. CREST:
Unicorn's head colored gold. MOTTO: Qui semina vertu raccoglia fama. (Who sows virtue gathers fame)
CHILDREN OF ROGER AND HENRIETTA RAPER GALE
IX. ROGER HENRY (1710, Scruton - 1768) married in 1740 to Catherine Crowe (1714 - 1782), daughter of Christopher Crowe of Kiplin Hall, Esq. and had children.
IX. CORDELIA: No further information
IX. ROGER HENRY GALE, ESQ. (1710 - 1769) was born on 5/30/1710 at Stockton on Tees, Durham, to Roger and Henrietta Raper Gale. In 1740 he married CATHERINE CROWE, daughter of Christopher Crowe, Esq. (6/22/1682, Ashington, Northumberland. -
11/9/1749) of Kiplin Hall, North Yorkshire, and his wife Lady Charlotte Lee (1679 - 1721), granddaughter of King Charles II by his mistress, the Duchess of Cleveland. Lady Charlotte's first husband was Benedict Calvert, 4th Lord Baltimore, from whom she was
KIPLIN HALL (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kiplin_Hall)
Christopher Crowe Esq. (1682 - 1749)
CHILDREN OF HENRY & MARY DALTON GALE
XI. HARRIETT (1783 - 12/15/1839) married IN 1816 Lt. Col. Foster Lechmere Coore, Esq. (12/26/1780 - 1837), eldest son of John and Ann Lechmere Coore of Firby Hall, Yorkshire, on 2/22/1816. Harriet inherited Scruton Hall and assumed the arms of her
father, joined with those of the Coore family. The Coore Arms: Argent, a saltire sa, on a chief of the second ti roe cinquefoils or. CREST: A curlew ppr. MOTTO: Qui semina vertu raccoglia fama.
XI. CATHERINE (1741 - ??) Nothing further.
XI. ANNE (?? - ??) never married and inherited her grandfather Francis Dalton's estate, Hauxwell Hall, shown above. The archway, constructed ca. 1850, is inscribed above with the family coat-of-arms.
XI. MARY (1780-81 - 1794) died young.
XI. HENRY (7/11/1781 - 1795) died young.
XI. FRANCIS (1787 - 1795) died young.
ARMS OF HENRY GALE
ARMS: Azure on a fesse between three saltaires argent, as many lion's heads erased of the field, langued gu. CREST: Out of a ducal coronet or, a unicorn's head paly of six azure and or, armed gold. MOTTO: Qui semina vertu raccoglia fama.
VIII. CHARLES GALE (1677- 1738), RECTOR OF SCRUTON, was born to Thomas and Barbara Pepys Gale and was baptized on 8/6/1677 at St. Faith's, London. He married CORDELIA THWAITES (?? - 1721), daughter of Thomas Thwaites of Burrell
and had children. Charles was rector of Scruton and was in the Holy Orders of Trinity College, Cambridge, receiving a B.A. in 1698, and an M.A. in 1708. On 7/29/1719 he received dispensation to hold the vicarage of Kirkby Fleeton with the rectory of
Scruton. Cordelia Thwaites Gale died in 1721 and Charles in 1738.
CHILDREN OF CHARLES & CORDELIA THWAITES GALE
IX. THOMAS (1708 - 7/7/1756) married Eleanor Crowe (1719 - 1796), daughter of Roger Crowe, Esq. of Fryston. He was a fellow at Trinity College, Cambridge, A. B. 1729, M. A. 1733. He was in the Holy Orders and was rector of Scruton in 1738 and of
West Rounton in 1742. His children, if any, are unknown.
IX. SAMUEL (1714 - 1744)) no children
IX. CHARLES (1711 - 1743) no children
IX. ROGER (1721 - 1776) married Jane Conyers and had children.
IX. ROGER GALE (Living 1758) was born at an unknown date to Charles and Cordelia Thwaits Gale. He married JANE CONYERS and had nine children. He was an attorney-at-law in Northallerton and served as a Lieutenant in the North Yorkshire
Militia in 1758.
CHILDREN OF ROGER & JANE CONYERS GALE
X. CHARLES (1752 - ??)
X. THOMAS (Bapt. 5/30/1754 - ??) of Northallerton. No children
X. CONYERS (7/20/1755 - ??) Northallerton
X. ROGER (Bapt. 10/21/1756 - ??) Northallerton; Rector of Hawkswell, co. York
X. CORDELIA (Bapt. 1/3/1758 - ??) no children
X. JANE #1 (4/30/1759 - ??) died in infancy
X. HENRY (Bapt. 7/8/1760 at Northallerton - buried 2/1/1825, at Escrick) Rev. Henry Gale, M.A. married Marianne Bell, daughter of Ralph and Ann Conyers Bell of the Manor of Thirsk, on 12/3/1798. He was in the Holy Orders at Trinity College,
Cambridge, and in 1804 was minister of the Chapel of Seamer and later Rector of Escrick and Hawkswell, in Yorkshire.
X. JANE #2 (ca. 1760 - ??) was baptized on 6/26/1761 in Northallerton. She married Thomas Harle in Newcastle in 1780-81. They had a son, Thomas Harle, Jr. born in 1782.
X. SAMUEL: (Bapt. 5/31/1764 - ??) no children
VIII. SAMUEL GALE (1682 - 1754), was born on 12/17/1682 to the Reverend Thomas Gale, D. D. and his wife Barbara Pepys. He was baptized on 12/20/1682 and his godfather was Samuel Pepys, the imminent diarist. Samuel and his family were members
of St. Faith's, London. He never married and lived for a time at "the Chicken House," now demolished, located on High Street in Hampstead. The house contained stained glass commemorating a visit by King James I. By 1754 it was a lodging house.
Samuel was educated at St. Paul's School and later attended Cambridge. After his father's death in 1702 he was employed as Land Surveyor of Customs at the Custom House at London. He was well versed in the antiquities of England and was the first
treasurer and "reviver" of the Society of Antiquaries in 1717. He left a valuable collection of manuscripts and prints, which were sold at auction following his death in London at age 72 on 1/10/1754. He was buried four days later at St. George's,
Queen-Square, London, by his friend and brother-in-law, Dr. Stukeley, Rector at St. George's. During his lifetime he published A History of Winchester Cathedral, begun by Henry, Earl of Clarendon in 1715 in London. He also wrote an essay on the Horn
of Ulphus, at York, and another on Caesar's passage over the Thames, both published in the Archæologia, Vol. I.
VI. RALPH/RAIPHE GALE (Ca. 1599 - ??), LOCKSMITH OF YORK, was born to John and Jane Gale and baptized on 6/21/1599. He married (1) ALICE BENFLEET at York in 1622. According to the Pedigree of Gale, of Scruton, Ralph, a citizen of
London, is said to have married at St. Andrew's, Holborn, (2) DOROTHY MARCH by marriage license dated 10/18/1632. He was living in London in 1638 where he was listed at St. Martin Ludgate. Dorothy March Gale died and was buried at St.
Margaret's, Lothbury, on 6/27/1649 and Ralph appears to have married (3) SARAH (UNKNOWN). They had a daughter, Judith, baptized at Hackney, London, on 7/16/1650.
CHILDREN OF RALPH GALE & HIS WIVES
VII. EDWARD (Aft. 1622 - ??) - [Was he the Edward Gale, clockmaker of York, who leased Acomb Grange back to Robert?]
VII. JOHN (Aft. 1622 - ??)
VII. JUDITH (Bapt. 7/16/1650, Hackney, London - ??), daughter of Ralph and Sarah Gale.
VII. UNKNOWN DAUGHTERS
VI. JOHN GALE (1601 - 1685) OF SCRUTON & FARNLEY HALL, LEEDS, son of John and Jane Gale, was baptized on 12/7/1601 at Scruton in Yorkshire. He married JOANNA DODSON/DODGSON (ca. 1628 - buried 12/20/1696) of Kirkby Overblow,
daughter of Miles Dodson/Dodgson and his wife Lucy, daughter of Reverend Peter Cooke, of Sutton-upon-Derwent. According to Kirkby Overblow and District, by Harry Speight, published in 1903 in London, Joanna Dodson married John, "...son of
John Gale, Esq., of Scruton, near Bedale, whose mother was a Thwaites of Marston, and whose aunt Dora married for her second husband, Sir Thomas Fairfax, father of The first Lord Fairfax." In interpreting this quotation, it certainly appears that
John's grandparents were Robert Francis and Anne Clapham Thwaite Gale and that his parents were John and Jane Gale.
In 1625, John Gale was one of 15,000 Englishmen recruited by Count Mansfield and fought under him in the Thirty Years War (1618 - 1648), or the Low Country Wars, so-called because of the area of low lying lands around the Rhine, Scheldt and Meuse
rivers in the Dutch Republic where some of the battles were fought. Known as Zeeland, the area was comprised roughly by what is today Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Mr. Ralph Thoresby (1658 - 1725), A noted antiquarian of Leeds, wrote,
"Mr. John Gale who had been in the Low Country Wars under Count Mansfield in the time of King James I, resided many years at Farnley-hall, where his son Miles now Rector of Kighley, was born…When Sir Thomas Danby was Collonel (sic)
against the Scots, Mr. Gale was Captain, but afterwards refusing a Commission from Cromwell he retired thither." (Thoresby) The mention of Cromwell here, along with the time frame, points to the Irish Rebellion of 1649-52 during which members of
the Gale family fought under Cromwell. Also in Ireland during this period was Christopher Wandesford (1592 - 1640) who had two daughters, Alice Wandesford (1627 - 1707) who married William Thornton of East Newton, and Katherine Wandesford
who married SIR THOMAS DANBY (1610 - 1660). [SEE CHAPTER 4]
In fact, Farnley Hall was the 16th century seat of the Danby family. Christopher Danby (Living 1637) and his wife Frances Parker Danby had a son, Thomas Danby (1610 - 1660), whose wife was the daughter of Christopher Wandesford (above). Their
son, also Thomas Danby (1631 - 1667), became the first mayor of Leeds in 1661 under Charles II. The will of Sir Thomas Danby, dated 11/11/1659, of Thorpe Perrow, Yorkshire, made a bequest to John Gale of Kirkby Over Blow and also mentioned
Danby's children, Francis, Katherine, Alice, John, Charles and CHRISTOPHER DANBY who married Ann Colepepper/Culpeper (Bapt. 9/10/1630, Hollingbourne, Kent - 1695, York), daughter of Thomas and Katherine St. Leger Culpeper. The marriage took
place in Virginia, and it was noted that Christopher and Ann Danby had gone there to "plant and reside."
Firby Hall, Bedale, home of the Coores
© David Rogers & licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons License
Farnley Hall, 2005, south side of Hall Lane, West Yorkshire
(http://www.leodis.net/display.aspx?resourceIdentifier=200666_161369 (& 200668_161374)
I. James Gale (ca. 1445 - Aft. 1523) m. (Unknown)
DESCENDANTS OF I. JAMES GALE OF THRINTOFT through his sons III. JAMES & III. GEORGE GALE
IV. Six Unknown Daughters
IV. Robert (ca. 1523 - ??) of Tralee, m. Aft. 1560 (1) widow Elizabeth Gale Garbray, daughter of George Gale and widow of Thomas Garbray. He married (2) Unknown
III. Gregory (?? - ??) by wife (2)
III. James Gale (ca. 1490s/1500s - ??) of Scruton, merchant of York, m. (Unknown) & resided in Spain & Ireland.
VI. Robert of Acomb & Tralee (ca. 1590 - 1656), a younger son of Bardsee Hall seated at Acomb, County York, England, m. (Unknown)
VII. John (1615-20 - 1680) married Elizabeth Ghiver. Their descendants settled in Whitehaven. [SEE CHAPTER 2]
VII. Matthew (?? - ??) MAY HAVE IMMIGRATED
VII. George (?? - ??)
VII. Robert (?? - ??)
VII. Mary (?? - ??)
IX. Cordelia (?? - ??- 1768)
IX. Robert Henry (1710 - 1768) m. Catherine Crowe (1714 - 1782)
V. Francis (ca. 1563 - Bef. 1607) m. Frances Hildyard (?? - 1639) in 1590 at Winestead
VI. Christopher (1/13/1591 - ??) of Winestead
VI. Richard (1592 - 1610) of Winestead, unmarried
VI. John (1594 - ??) of Winestead
VI. Ursula (1595 - ??) of Winestead, married Robert Robinson
VI. Christopher (Bapt. 1597 - 1656) m. Frances Conyers of Holtby
VII. William (Baptized at Scruton & died the day after)
VII. John (?? - ??)
VII. Cordelia (?? - 1637) Bapt. Scruton, died in infancy
VII. Frances (?? - ??) Bapt. at Scruton
VII. Christopher (?? - ??) Bapt. at Scruton
VII. Thomas (Bapt. 1636 - 1702) m. Barbara Pepys
VIII. Roger (1672 - 1744) m. Henrietta Raper
X. Catherine (1741 - 1744)
X. Roger (1743 - 1751)
X. Henry (1744 - 1821) m. Mary Tasker Dalton
XI. Catherine (?? - ??)
XI. Anne (?? - ??) of Hauxwell Hall
XI. Mary (1780- 81 - 1794)
XI. Henry (1781 - 1795)
XI. Francis (1787 - 1795)
XI. Harriett (Bef. 1789 -1839) m. Lt. Col. Foster Lechmere Coore
X. Harriet (1745 - ??) m. John Atkinson Blanshard
X. Samuel (1746 - Aft. 1810)
X. Catherine #2 (1752 - ??)
X. Christopher (1756 - 1805)
VIII. Elizabeth #1 (1675-1677)
VIII.Charles (1677 - 1738) m. Cordelia Thwaites
IX. Thomas (1708 - 1746-56) m. Eleanor Crowe
IX. Samuel (1714 - 1744)
IX. Charles (1711 - 1743)
IX. Roger (1721 - 1776) m. Jane Conyers
X. Charles (1752 - ??)
X. Thomas (Bapt. 1754 - ??)
X. Conyers (1755 - ??)
X. Roger (Bapt. 1756 - ??)
X. Cordelia (Bapt. 1758 - ??)
X. Jane #1 (1759 - d. young)
X. Henry (Bapt. 1760 -1825)
X. Jane #2 (ca. 1760-61 - ??) m. Thomas Harle
X. Samuel (Bapt. 1764 - ??)
VIII. Barbara (1678 - 1682)
VIII. Katherine (1679 -1680)
VIII. Thomas (1681 - 1682)
VIII. Samuel (1682 - 1754) unmarried.
VIII. Thomas #2 (1684 - 1684)
VIII. Barbara #2 (1685 - ??)
VIII. Elizabeth #2 (1687 - 1757) m. Rev. Wm. Stukeley
VIII. Thomas #3 (1689 - 1717)
VI. Ralph/Raiphe (Bapt. 1599 - ??) m. (1) Alice Benfleet, 1622 m. (2) Dorothy March, 1632, m. (3) Sarah (Unknown)
VII. Edward (Aft. 1622 - ??)
VII. John (Aft. 1622 - ??)
VII. Unknown Daughters
VII. Judith (Bapt. 1650, Hackney - ??), d/o Ralph & Sarah Gale
VI. John (Bapt. 1601 - 1685) of Farnley Hall m. Joanna Dodson ca. 1644
VII. Miles (1647 - 1721) m. Margaret Stones ca. 1678
IX. William (?? - ??)
VIII. Christopher (1680 - 1734) m. Sarah Laker [See NC]
VIII. Miles (1682-83 - By 1715) - [See NC]
VIII. Thomas (Bapt. 1685 - Living 1714) Rector of Linton
VII. Henry (Bapt. 1653 - 1683)
VII. Francis (Bapt. ca. 1655-1685) m. Sarah Harper 1676
VIII. John (1680-81 - 1721) of London, unm.
VIII. Ann (born & died 1683)
VII. John (?? - 1647) died in infancy
VII. Thomas (?? - 1652) died in infancy
VII. Joane (?? - 1652) died in infancy
VI. Margaret or Anne (Bapt. 1603 - ??) m. Wm. Burton of Scruton
VI. Dorothy (Bapt. 11/1/1607 ??) m. Richard Harrison in 1634
V. Thomas (ca. 1569 - ??) died without issue
III. George Gale (ca. 1490 - 1556-57) married Mary Lord (1500 - 9/24/1557)
VI. Francis (ca. 1579 - Possibly 1644) m. ca. 1602, Barbara Dutton (ca. 1582 - ??)
VII. Robert (ca. 1603 - ??) m. Elizabeth Langdale ca.1624
VIII. Barbara (ca. 1626 - ??) m. Richard Mallet
VIII. Francis (ca. 1628 - 1644, age 16)
VIII. Jane (ca. 1630 - ??)
VIII. Mary (ca. 1632 - ??)
VIII. Robert (ca. 1634 - living 1667) m. 1667 Anne Thorold (?? - 1670)
IX. Alice (1667 - ??)
IX. Robert (1669 - ??) of Lincoln's Inn m. Saladine Robinson in 1703
IX. Ann (1670 - ??)
VIII. John (1637 - 1689 m. Mary Jackson, immigrated to Jamaica
VII. Matthew (1607 - Living 1644 Rufforth), Alias Dutton, of Rufforth m. Anne Thweng
VII. George (ca. 1609-12 - ??)
IV. Dorothy (1523 - 1596) m. (1) John Rokeby (?? - ca. 1556) & (2) Sir Thomas Fairfax of Denton (1521 - 1599)
IV. Thomas (1529 - 1557) m. Thomazine (Unknown). No children
IV. Ursula (1529 - 1584-1603) m. (1) Sir Wm. Mallory, m. (2) Henry Belasis, Esq.
IV. Anne (1531 - ??) m. 1576, Robert Peacock -- possible twin of Isabelle
IV. Isabelle (1531 - ??) m. 1573, Ralph Hall -- possible twin of Anne
IV. Alice (1535 - 1596) m. Christopher Clapham
IV. *Elizabeth (1539 - Aft. 1562) -- (named in the will of Elizabeth Lord, sister-in-law ot George Gale) m. (1) Thomas Garbray (?? - Will 1560) and had one son, George, and 6 daughters & (2) Robert Gale (ca. 1523 - ??) son of James Gale [ABOVE]
IV. Robert Francis (1525-27 - 1561) m. 1549 Anne Clapham Thwaite, widow of John Thwaite of Marston
Located on Hall Lane at Farnley, Leeds, West Yorkshire, the Manor of Farnley Hall was recorded in the 1086 Domesday book as Fernelei. It is situated on the River Wharfe two miles to the north of the town of Otley and not far from Pontefract and
Wensleydale. Swaledale and Morecambe Bay lie about 50 miles from the town. About 75 miles away are the Yorkshire coast, the southern and eastern parts of the Lake District, Sherwood Forest, and the towns of Whitby, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, and
Liverpool. In 1799 Farnley Hall was sold by William Danby of Swinton to James Armitage, a Leeds wool merchant. Its grounds now constitute the public Farnley Hall Park. In the photos above, the one at left shows the entrance of the hall while the one on
the right shows the rear wing of the east facade containing 12 windows on two levels. The old brick stable, visible on the right, dates to the 17th Century. In 1756, most of original Farnley Hall was demolished and another structure rebuilt of hand-made red
brick in a random bond pattern. However, a portion of the original structure still existss and at the rear is a faded inscription that reads, "Builded in the year of our Lord, 1586 and in the reayn of the Queen 78 bi Thomas Danby, Knight".
In 1652, John Gale purchased a residence known as the Stone House at Kirkby Overblow, from his father-in-law, Miles Dodson for £1170. The property had been conveyed to trustees as a marriage settlement at the marriage of John's son Miles to Margaret
Stone, daughter of Christopher Stone, D. D. In 1656 a fine was levied by John Gaile (sic), Miles Steele and George Pickering, plaintiffs, against Miles and Lucy Dodson, defendants, for land and messuages there. By 1665 John was living at Kirkby Overblow
and one account noted that he neglected to report his lineage at the Visitation in that year. On 7/11/1679 the names of John Gale, Joan (sic) his wife, their son Miles, and Miles Dodgson appeared on a land transaction.
John Gale died in 1686 and was buried on 2/23/1686 at Kirkby Overblow, Yorkshire. He left a will, dated 5/23/1684 and proved in June of 1686, that named his wife Joan (sic) Gale, his son Miles, to whom he left most of his property, and his youngest son
Francis Gale. A line naming son Henry Gale is crossed out, since he had predeceased his father. John also named Lucy Cheldrey, Lucy Ramsbotham, George Easterby and Guy Gale of Redwell. Witnesses were John Edward, Tho. Cullinworth and John J.
Slyansen. A copy of the will is preserved at the Borthwick Institute in York. Joanna Gale was buried at Keighley.
CHILDREN OF JOHN AND JOANNA DODSON GALE [All children were all baptized at St. Peter's, Leeds. Three of them, John, Thomas and Joane, died in infancy and were buried at Farnley Hall]
VII. MILES (6/19/1647 - 1/2/1720) married ca. 1678 to Margaret/Margery Stone, daughter of Rev. Christopher Stone, D. D. Chancellor of York, from 1660 - 1687, and his wife Grace Robinson Stone, of Leeds. Miles and Margaret Gale resided at Farnley Hall.
VII. JOHN (?? - 1647) "son of Mr. John Gayle of Farnley Hall, buried 6/7/1647." (Brayton)
VII. THOMAS (?? - buried 3/29/1652) died in infancy.
VII. JOANE: (?? - buried 7/17/1652) died in infancy.
VII. HENRY (Bapt. 1653 - Buried 1683) of Kirkby Overblow.
VII. FRANCIS (Bapt. 1655 - Buried 1/1/1685-86) of Kirkby Overblow, married Sarah Harper in 1676.
VII. MILES GALE (1647 - 1720), ANTIQUARY AND RECTOR OF KEIGHLEY, was the eldest son of John and Joanna Dodson/Dodgson Gale, born on 1/19/1647 at Farnley Hall. Miles graduated in 1666 from Trinity College, Cambridge, and received his
M. A. in 1670. He became an ordained deacon on 9/20/1668 and some ten years later married MARGERY/MARGARET STONE (Abt. 1657 - ??) daughter of Dr. Christopher and Grace Robinson Stone of Leeds. Dr. Stone was chancellor of York Minster from
1660-61 until his death and was buried on 11/26/1686 at York Minster where and a memorial, including a description of his arms, remains. Miles and Margery Stone Gale had six known children, several of whom were baptized at St. Michael le Belfrey, next to
St. Michael le Belfrey, York, originally built in 1535
(Photo: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Michael_le_Belfrey, _York)
In 1680 Miles Gale became rector at Keighley, a picturesque market-town about 200 miles from London, and held that position until his death in 1720-21. The parish church, originally erected during the reign of Henry I (1100 - 1135), has long since
disappeared. The present church, constructed in 1848, was given to the priory of Bolton. When Miles arrived in Keighley there were 100 houses and about 600 residents in the town. A strong proponent of education, he traveled on horseback around the
parish with books and a portable desk, teaching his parishioners to read and loaning them books from his extensive library. He also introduced midwifery, established a clean water supply, and was instrumental in setting up Keighley's grammar schools.
Miles Gale was interested in antiquarian research and sometime between 1703 and 1715 he presented to Mr. Ralph Thoresby (1658 - 1715), the noted Yorkshire antiquarian, a work entitled Memoirs of the Family of Gale, particularly of the learned Dr.
Thomas Gale, Dean of York, and Christopher Gale, Esq., Her Majesty's Attorney-General in North Carolina. The manuscript remained in Thoresby's collection in Leeds, England, until his death in 1725 when it passed to his son Ralph. In 1764 it was
sold at auction in London and its current whereabouts are unknown. The Reverend Miles Gale died on the evening January 2nd or 3rd and was buried at Keighley on 1/6/1720-21. He left a will dated 12/3/1710 and proved 12/14/1724.
An article in the North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal, Volume XXVIII, No. 1, February, 2002 by John Anderson Brayton disputed the pedigree that Gale submitted to Thoresby and maintained that Gale composed an erroneous pedigree fueled
by his desire for ancestors from the landed gentry. He supported his position citing wills and other data, providing complete transcriptions of extant wills for each ancestor. He stated, "The most 'easily' accessible records from the British repositories have
been used in this project - that is to say, wills and other probate indices; parish registers and bishops' transcripts; the various reliable publications concerning connections to already established armigerous familes; Harleian and other visitations;
calendars of inquisitions post mortem; and other extant calendars including patent rolls, letters patent, and chancery suits." (Brayton)
This writer can neither confirm nor deny Mr. Brayton's position; however we know that Miles Gale's father was John Gale (1601 - 1685) as referenced on 2/25/1708 when Miles and Margaret Gale sold the Stone House, to John Stables for £950. The elder
Gale had purchased the property in 1652 and it became part of a marriage settlement at Miles' marriage to Margaret. In 1755 John Gale, Gentleman, of Noble Street, London, [probably Miles Gale's son John, (1692 - ??)-] was identified as the uncle of
Henrietta Maria Gale. The account stated that John was preparing to move to Twickenham, a village in the hundred of Isleworth. In 1758 JOHN GALE, Gentleman, of Twickenham, County of Middlesex, sold his 65 acre estate at Stonehouse in Kirkby
Overblow and five messuages at Horsforth to HENRY STABLES of Wetherby, Gentleman of Yorkshire, son of John and Isabel Harrison Stables and husband of John's niece of Henrietta Maria Gale, who Stables married in 1749. John Gale left a will dated
5/4/1767 in which he bequeathed the said estate to Samuel Bamesley and William Hargrave in trust for the sole use of his niece, Henrietta Maria Gale, wife of Henry Stables, and then to her daughter, Mary Gale Stables, who was to inherit John Gale's
estate at the age of 21. John named his nephew William Gale as sole executor and left him his gold watch, his seal, and the balance of his estate. Mary Gale Stables had died by 5/7/1781 and John's estate reverted to her mother, Henrietta Maria Gale.
(www.archive.org/stream/reportcasesarg12perkgoog/reportscasesarg12perkgoog/djvu.txt, "Reports of cases argued and determined in the High Court of the Chancery, during the time of Lord Chancellor Thurlow.")
It is also clear that Miles' son, Christopher Gale, maintained a relationship with the Fairfax family of Yorkshire, suggesting a further relationship with the family of George Gale (1497 - 1556) whose daughter Dorothy married secondly to Sir Thomas Fairfax,
son of Sir William and Isabel Thwaites Fairfax of Steeton. George Gale's grandson was Robert Gale (1556 - 1585-90) of Acomb Grange who married Thomasine Stapleton and whose arms were painted on the Wapentake panels in the Great Chamber at
Gilling Castle, the seat of the Fairfax family. Sir William Fairfax (?? - 1597) married secondly to Jane Stapleton, daughter of Bryan Stapleton Esq. of Nottingham and Burton, and glass panels in the south window of the Chamber bear the Stapleton arms.
CHILDREN OF MILES & MARGERY STONE GALE [SEE CHAPTER 16]
VIII. CHRISTOPHER (6/7/1680, Farnley Hall - 1734, Edenton, Chowan Co., NC) was baptized on 6/15/1680, St. Michael le Belfry. He married Sarah Catherine Laker Harvey (1689, Yorkshire - Abt. 1730, Chowan Co., NC) on 1/17/1701 and the couple
immigrated to North Carolina and had children.
VIII. MILES (1682, Farnley Hall - by 1715, NC) was baptized at Keighley on 1/25/1682. He and his brother Edmund followed their brother Christopher to North Carolina sometime around 1710. Miles married Elizabeth Farnaby (Abt. 1686 - ??) in 1715 and
had a son, Miles, Jr., but died in Edenton soon after his marriage according to a letter written by his father on 4/22/1715.
VIII. THOMAS (Bapt. 9/3/1684-85, St. Michael le Belfry - ??) was born at Farnley Hall and may have had a son, William. He was Rector of Linton.
VIII. MARY (Bapt. 12/21/1687, Keighley - ??) born at Farnley Hall.
VIII. EDMUND (8/26/1690, Farnley Hall - ??) baptized on 9/26/1690, Keighley, St. Andrews and immigrated to North Carolina.
VIII. JOHN (Bapt. 10/18/1692 at Keighley - ??), named in his father's will, was referred to as son John, "now a Prentice to Mr. How an upholstery (sic)…" He was shown in the London City Apprenticeships Abstracts as a clerk to Mr. John Home (sic),
Upholders' (sic) Company, on 4/20/1709. In his will, Miles Gale left his son John £100. Whether he immigrated, married or had children is not known.
Upon letters received from his Excellency the present Governour Eden, and My Eldest son Chr. Gale I sent for son Tho. To come over, and resolve ether to go into the West Indies (as kindly invited both by the Governour and his Eldest Brother) or write
his excuse, he has chose to do the latter. The work is of that nature, as I was no hindrance to his going, and could wish to go myself, (tho now aged 67) rather then Heathenisme, or any other schisme from the Church of England should prevail 3 of my
sons upon their own choice, have gone to Carolina, where two of them are well married, and one dead. I have made all the enquiry in my power after some to go as Missionaries, they like the terms but dread the Voyage, and the heat of that Climate, I
heartily wish, and hope Religion may be taken care for in that Heathenish Country, by those in whose power it is. Desiring my service may be made acceptable to that Honorable Society, praying for all yr. Healths and happiness I conclude Worthy Sir
yr. Very humble Servant.
Miles Gale Rector
CHILD OF THOMAS GALE & UNKNOWN WIFE
IX. WILLIAM (?? - ??) , who may have gone to North Carolina to be with his uncles.
VII. FRANCIS GALE (BAPT. 1655 - 1685-86) was born to John and Johanna Dodson Gale and baptized in 1655. On 10/9/1676 he married SARAH HARPER and had two
known children, John and Ann. Francis Gale resided at Kirkby Overblow, located in Yorkshire southeast of Harrogate, where he was buried on 1/1/1685-86. All Saints, pictured
here, is the parish church there. [In several instances Gale men named Francis have actually been Robert Francis. Indexes to Probate Inventories of the Peculiar Court of the
Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's Cathedral held in the Manuscripts Department of the Guildhall Library listed an inventory for one Robert Gale dated 4/24/1686 that may refer to
this Francis Gale].
CHILDREN OF FRANCIS & SARAH HARPER GALE
JOHN (Christened 5/13/1681, Kirkby Overblow - 1721, London) Unmarried
ANN (Christened 1/25/1683, Kirkby Overblow - 1683)
CHILDREN OF GEORGE & MARY LORD GALE
IV. THOMAS (1529 - 1557) married Thomazine (Unknown) but had no children.
IV. ISABELLE (1531 - ??) married Ralph Hall, merchant and Lord Mayor of York, in 1573.
IV. ANNE (Est. 1530 - ??) married Robert Peacock, Lord Mayor of York, in 1576.
IV. ALICE (1535 - 1/2/1595-96) married Christopher Clapham, Esq. of Lilling-in-Craven
IV. DOROTHY (1523 - 1/20/1596) married (1) John Rokeby (?? - 1/28/1599-1600) Esq. of Kirk Sandal. The Rokebys also intermarried with the Danbys, Constables, Lascelles and Thwengs, all associated with the Gales. Additionally, Sir Thomas Rokeby, Knt.
married Jane Lawson, daughter of Ralph and Elizabeth Brough Lawson. Their grandson, Thomas Rokeby, married a daughter of William Wycliffe, Esq. of Gales, Yorkshire. Finally, Ralph Rokeby, Esq. married a daughter of Sir Brian Stapleton of Weighill whose
family also intermarried with the Gales.
Dorothy Gale married (2) Sir Thomas Fairfax, son of Sir William and Isabel Thwaites Fairfax of Steeton. They had two daughters and five sons, one of whom was Thomas Lord Fairfax of Cameron.
IV. URSULA (1529-31 - 1603) married (1) Sir William Mallory (?? - buried at Ripon 3/22/1603) of Studley and Hulton, later of York, and (2) Sir Henry Belasis, Esq. (1525 - ??). Ursula had 16 children and predeceased her second husband. Some researchers claim that
Ursula's son Robert, or Francis, carried on the Gale name.
IV. ELIZABETH (1539 - Aft. 1562) married (1) Robert Garbray of Beverley (?? - Will 1560) and had children. Elizabeth married (2) ROBERT GALE, son of James Gale. (Porter)
IV. FRANCIS (ca. 1525/6 - 11/28/1561, Rufforth) married Anne Clapham Thwaite, daughter of William Clapham of Beamsley in Craven and widow of John. Thwaite of Marston.
[The National Archives at Kew, London, holds Inquisitions Post Mortem (medieval inquires held following the death of a feudal lord to determine the disposition of his property) including those for John Rokeby (spouse Dorothy Gale), Thomas Fairfax (spouse Dorothy Gale), Francis Gale,
Christopher Clapham (spouse Anne/Alice Gale), and Sir Richard Stapleton (spouse Elizabeth Gale).
THE FAIRFAX FAMILY
George Gale's daughter, Dorothy, married Sir Thomas Fairfax (1521 - 1/28/1599) of Denton and Nunappleton, son of Sir William Fairfax (ca. 1505 - 10/31/1557-58) of Denton/Steeton and his wife Isabel Thwaites (1497 - ??). Sir William, High Sheriff of Yorkshire in
1535 and 1540, was one of the pardoned leaders of the Pilgrimage of Grace during the reign of King Henry VIII. Thomas succeeded his father as High Sheriff in 1571 and was knighted by Queen Elizabeth in 1579.
One of Thomas and Dorothy Gale Fairfax's sons was Sir Thomas Fairfax II (1560, Denton Castle, Yorkshire - 5/2/1640), 1st Lord of Cameron, who in 1582 married Ellen Aske (?? - 8/23/1620), daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Dawney Aske of Aughton. Sir Thomas
Fairfax fought in the Low Country Wars, was knighted by Lord Essex for gallant conduct at Rouen in 1591 and served Queen Elizabeth as a diplomatist. A daughter, Dorothy Fairfax (1590 - 1655-56), married Sir William Constable, whose family also intermarried
with the Gales.
The great-great-great grandson of Sir Thomas and Dorothy Gale Fairfax was William Fairfax, Esq. (10/15/1691, Newton Lyme Parish, Yorkshire - 9/3/1757, Belvoir Manor, Fairfax County, VA). Educated under the auspices of Lord Lonsdale at Lowther School, he
served in the Navy during the War of Spanish Succession and was part of the expedition against the island of Providence, in the Bahamas. Around 1712 he entered colonial service and was posted in India, where he remained until returning to London in 1717. He
traveled to the Bahamas in 1718 and was acting as president of the court at Nassau by 1724. He also served as Secretary of State and as acting governor. On 3/27/1723/24 William Fairfax married Sarah Walker (?? - 1731) of Salem, Massachusetts, daughter of
Major Thomas Walker, at Providence Island, Bahamas. Their children were all born in Salem where William was Collector of Customs. They were George William, Thomas, Sarah, and Anne Fairfax, who married George Washington's brother Lawrence.
Sometime after 1721 William Fairfax began writing a log of his guests on the blank pages of Ralph Thoresby's "Topography…of Leeds," printed in 1715. The book was originally owned by Miles Gale and acquired at his death by his son Christopher, who became
Chief Justice of the Bahamas. Christopher Gale brought the book to Nassau and gave it to William Fairfax, who took it to Salem where log entries begin to appear on 12/19/1729. CHRISTOPHER GALE was visiting the couple in 1731 when Sarah Walker Fairfax
died. Following her death he took her oldest son, 6 year old George William Fairfax, back to relatives in England after William wrote them asking "indulgence (for) a poor West India boy." In compliance with his wife's dying wish, William married her friend
Deborah Clarke of Salem and the couple sailed for Virginia on 6/17/1734, taking the guest book with them.
William Fairfax became Collector of Customs for the South Potomac and in September became a justice of the Westmoreland County Court. He also obtained power of attorney from Lord Fairfax in England to manage the latter's affairs and during this time his
family acquired 2,000 acres in Virginia. William Fairfax died on 9/2/1757 at his Potomac River home leaving a will, dated 2/6/1755 and proved in Fairfax County. Both William and his wife, Deborah Gedny Clarke, were buried at Belvoir Manor, inherited by their son,
George William Fairfax. The property was later sold out of the family and became the site of the present Fort Belvoir. George William Fairfax also inherited his father's guest book and took it to England where it was sold at auction after the death of his wife in
1811. In the 20th century it was purchased by a descendant and brought again to Virginia, where it is supposedly still in existence.
THE MALLORY FAMILY
Ursula Gale, another of George Gale's daughters, married first to Sir William Mallory (?? - 1603) of Studley and Hulton, later of York, whose arms were described as "or, a lion rampant gules collared argent." His crest was "a nag's head couped gules." (Crozier)
Ursula had 16 children and predeceased her second husband. Ursula's son, *Thomas, was the father of Thomas and Roger Mallory, who both immigrated to America, settling in Virginia where another intermarriage between descendants took place. [SEE
CHAPTER 11, PHILIP HUNLEY GAYLE]
CHILDREN OF SIR WILLIAM & URSULA GALE MALLORY (http://site.voila.fr/dolman/html_gb/idx470.html)
VII. JOAN (1550 - ??) married Thomas Lascelles
VII. DOROTHY (1551 - 5/6/1624) married Edward Copley
VII. ANN (1552 - ??) married Hugh Bethell
VII. JOHN (1554 - 4/3/1644) married Anne Eure
VII. WILLIAM (1556 - ??) married Troth Tyrwhitt
VII. CHRISTOPHER #1 (1558 -??)
VII. GEORGE (1560 - 7/7/1615) married Frances Dawson.
VII. CHRISTOPHER #2 (1562 - ??)
VII. ROBERT (1568 - ??)
VII. PETER (1570-76 - ??)
VII. FRANCIS (1572 - ??)
VII. ELEANOR (1578 - 1623) m. Sir. Robert Dolman (?? - 3/15/1627-28)
VII. ELIZABETH #1 (Bet. 1578-82 - 1627) m. John Legard
VII. FRANCES (Est. 1576 - ??)
VII. JULIAN (Abt. 1580 - ??)
VII. RAFE (Abt. 1582 - 1634) m. (1) Grace Neal [Other researchers claim Rafe's descent from Peter Mallory.]
VI. CHRISTOPHER #2 (Abt. 1584 - ??)
VII. *THOMAS (1567 - 4/3/1644), D.D., Dean of Chester, married (1) - (UNKNOWN), married (2) ELIZABETH VAUGHN (Abt. 1570): CHILDREN: By M/1: VIII. THOMAS #1 (?? - ??) went to America; VIII. ROGER (?? - ??) went to America; VIII. JOHN (?? - ??)
settled in London; VIII. JANE (?? - ??) married Mr. Stampe; VIII. MARY (?? - ??) married Mr. Forde; VIII. SUSANNA (?? - ??); By M/2: VIII. Thomas #2 (Ca. 1605 - buried 9/8/1671, Brindle, Lancaster) married (1) Mary Oldfield (Ca. 1615 - ??), (2) Jane (Unknown)
and (3) Frances (Unknown). Descendants of Thomas Mallory II settled on the Mattaponi River in New Kent County, VA that later became King & Queen and later King William County, VA.
IV. FRANCIS GALE (1525-26 - WILL 1561), OF ACOMB GRANGE was born to George and Mary Lord Gale in 1525. He became Treasurer of the Royal Mint, as was his father, and in 1549 married ANNE CLAPHAM THWAITE, widow of John Thwhaite of
Marston and daughter of William Clapham (ca. 1477 - 11/10/1540) and his wife, Margaret Middleton Clapham (ca. 1482 - ??) of Beamsley in Craven, Yorkshire.
In 1552 Francis Gale was named in a listing of property transfers with Robert Stapilton, kt., Nicholas Rudston, esq., and Robert Peycoke, Christopher Mallorey, esq., Manors of Stodley Magna, Hugon near Rupon, and Lynton in Craven, and 100 messuages, 40
cottages, and 5 watermills with lands there and in Grantley, Wyngfley, Bronton (Brompton) near Northallerton, Trafford, Dynfeld, and Nunwyke, also the advowson of the moiety of Lynton Church. (Yorkshire Fines: 1551 - 55, Feet of Fines of the Tudor period)
Around 1561 Francis Gayle (sic) Esq. and his wife Ann sold pasture land at Akham Graunge (sic) in the parish of Rufforth to Richard Vavasour, Gent., and his wife Dorothea. Francis was described as being "of Acomb Grange, although a survey of his lands
following his death showed that Acomb Grange was still held as a reversion of the original lease to Ralph Bagnal. Francis also inherited his father's property at Escrick and in 1564/5 was referred to as lord of Bardolgarth Manor.
Francis Gale, Esq. died in 1561 and was buried at Rufforth on 2/9/1561. His will, dated 11/28/1561, requested that he be buried at Rufforth "nigh unto his children." (Kaner) He left his wife silver cups, a nest of bowls, and "a little salt and a chayne of gold…"
(Kaner) A probate copy of his will is contained in the records of the Ingleby family of Lawkland, N. Riding, and West Yorkshire Archives Service. Francis Gale's widow married JOHN INGLEBY (?? - buried 1/17/1610 at Hutton Rudby, Yorkshire), second brother of
Sir William Ingleby of Ripley Castle. Acomb Grange then passed to Robert Gale, Francis' son, who sold it in 1584 to Sir Henry Knyvett, of Escrick.
THE ARMS OF FRANCIS GALE RECORDED IN 1563-64
ARMS: Azure a fese between 3 sawtrells argent on the fece 3 lionsheads erased Azure. CREST: …on a wrethe Argent and Azure an Unycornehede paly of 6 Argent & or. (Kaner) MOTTO: Unknown. [There is no reference for "sawtrell" within heraldry terms. It is
probably a misspelling of "saltires."]
CHILDREN OF FRANCIS & ANNE CLAPHAM THWAITE GALE
V. GEORGE (1) AND GEORGE (2) were born ca. 1553 and 1560, respectively, but both died in infancy and were buried at Old Rufforth.
V. THOMAS (1552, died in infancy)
V. ROBERT (1554-56 -- Aft. 1590) "of Acomb Grange" married in 1578 to Thomasine Stapleton (Bapt. 8/7/1560 - ??) daughter of Sir Brian Stapleton (1542, York - 1606) and his wife Elizabeth Darcy Stapleton (1537 - ??) of Carleton at Snaith who owned the manor of
V. JOHN (1556 or 1566 - 1630), farmer of Scruton, married Jane (Unknown) - (?? - 1630) ca. 1595. [Not Jane Frank, according to Porter.] -- SEE PROFILE BELOW
V. MARY (1558-59 - ??) married ca. 1579 to (1) James Thwaite, Esq. of Marston (?? - 2/17/1602-03), eldest son of John Thwaite. They had a son and three daughters. She married ca. 1605 (2) Thomas Meynell (1564 - 7/13/1653) of North Kilvington as his second
wife. There were no children.
V. FRANCES (1561- 62 - ??), posthumous child
Elizabeth Lord lived with George and Mary Gale until her death in 1550-51 and in January of the same year Gale and his family left the city to avoid an outbreak of plague, remaining absent
until at least September. Elizabeth Lord left a will, dated 1/28/1550-51, naming George Gale as executor. Witnesses were "Georgie Haull, chamberlain of Yorke, maister Miles Cooke,
marchaunte, Richard Holidaye, and William Garrett, my curate."Among her bequests she left the residue of her estate to "my loving and kind broder, maister Georgie Gaile, alderman." She
directed that her body was to be "buried in the grownde within the churche of the Holie Trinitie in Gotheromgate, in the ladie quere, nyghe unto my broder's stall in the said churche."
(http://22.214.171.124/report.asp?compid=36232; Houses of Benedictine nuns: Priory of Wilberfoss,' A History of the County of York: Volume 3, 1974, pp. 125-26)
NAMED IN ELIZABETH LORD'S WILL
COUSIN FRANCES GAILE (sic) - [Presumably Francis Gale (1525 - 1561-62) who married Anne Clapham.
COUSIN ROBERT PECOKE (sic) and wife Anne (Gale)
COUSIN RAUF HAULL (sic) and wife Isabell (Gale) - [ George's Gale's sister and brother-in-law] - [SEE CHAPTER 3, WILLIAM GALE, for other Hall family connections]
COUSIN BRIANE LORD
COUSIN JOHN ROKBYE (sic) and wife Dorothy (Gale)
COUSIN CHRISTOPHER CLAPHAM and wife Alice (Gale)
COUSIN ROBERT GARBRAY and wife Elizabeth (Gale) -- [Robert, not Thomas]
JENETT COOKE, wife of MYLES COOKE
COUSIN URSULA GAILE (sic), to whom she left money towards her marriage
COUSIN THOMAS GAILE
COUSIN MABELL WILSON, wife of Henrie Wilson in Kendall
COUSIN THOMAS LORD, son of brother EDWARD LORD
? SHEPARD, wife of Laurentie Shepard in Kendall, daughter of my sister Margarete.
COUSIN JOHN LUND and wife Isabell
COUSIN THOMAS BROIDES and wife Marie
SIR WILLIAM GARRETT, the parson
ALL THE MEN & WOMEN SERVANTS in my brother's house'
ELIZABETH BAKEHOUSE & AGNES FRAUKELAND
ALL GODCHILDREN IN YORK who I christened
COUSIN EDWARD HARLYNG
COUSIN KATHERINE HARLYG, wife of John Carlell
ANGES BARTON, ALICIE THORNTON, JOHN ANDREW, MARGERIE BROWNE (sisters in the house of Wilberfosse)
ALL CHILDREN OF MY SISTERS MARGARETE and MABELLA
GEORGIE HAULL, ROBERT AMAN, MODER (sic) MASHERUDDER, widow, & MAISTRESS GARRETT
ACOMB GRANGE & THE PILGRIMAGE OF GRACE
During the Protestant Reformation, roughtly between 1529 and 1536, King Henry VIII removed the Holy Church from the Pope's authority and made himself its supreme head. Under the King's orders, Thomas Cromwell enforced the Dissolution of the Monasteries,
forcing out the monks and nuns and leaving monastic property in control of the Crown, giving rise to a land grab during which men of means bought up the properties, George Gale included. In protest North Yorkshire noblemen mounted a rebellion led by Robert
Aske who mustered his troops at Acomb Grange before marching through Yorkshire on their way to London.
The Gales, being Catholic nonconformists, wanted no part of the Church of England. Since it was considered treason to be a practing Catholic, even to the extent of having to secretly bury their dead at night since penal codes made Catholic burials on church
grounds illegal, the family choose to pretend to be Anglican. George Gale apparently had no part in the rebellion, but some of his neighbors did, including one Robert Metham who was residing at Acomb Grange at the time of the uprising. Metham's older brother,
Thomas, was one of the rebel leaders.
On 10/18/1536 Aske led his forces against the King's troops, then guarding the city of York at the castles of Scarborough and Skipton. After being held at bay for about a week 20,000 of Aske's men occupied the city, allowing the monks and nuns to return to their
homes and restoring the observance of Catholicism, if only briefly. Afterwards King Henry sent his emissaries to negotiate with the rebels, offering them a pardon. Aske, who knew the King, trusted him but the promise was not kept, leading to another uprising in
Cumberland and Westmoreland that Aske tried unsuccessfully to prevent. At the end of the insurrection King Henry ordered the execution of most of the rebel leaders and Robert Aske, Robert Constable and several others were arrested, charged with treason and
executed in 1537.
In 1546-47 George Gale acquired land in Hunburton and Whenby and in 1550 owned land in Hemingbrough, Scarborough and Stamford Bridge. In 1553 he was granted by the crown property at Wilberfoss Priory, including the rectory, a windmill, and land at
Wilberfoss and Newton. He died sometime after 6/11/1556 when his will was dated. At his death his son, Francis, became the next owner of Acomb Grange and held it until 1606 when it was sold to Christopher Allanson. In 1636 the manor was sold to Roger
George Gale died in July of 1556 and was buried, against his wishes, at York Minster in the south transept of the church. A memorial was placed there to George and Dean Thomas Gale. George Gale left will, dated 6/11/1556, in which he bequeathed to his wife
Mary, "3000 wood yerely forth of Acorn Wood to be redy made carryed and layd at her dore." He also bequeathed "to the Cathedrall Churche of York one frontclothe of purple, rede and blewe velvet, with the Resurrection opon it wrought in golde, for the highe
altere, to be prayd for." (Kaner) He left £20 to his daughter Ursula and her husband Sir William Mallory and referred to lands in York City, Catton, Escrick, Hunburton, Wilberfoss, leases of Acomb Grange and Acomb with Holgate, Lilling and Newton. His wife and
sons were named as executors and supervisors were Aldermen John North and Robert Hall and recorder William Tancred. Gale's son Francis acquired Acomb Grange the following year when "Sir Arthur Darcy purchased a license from the crown to grant the
reversion of the lease to Francis Gayle and Anne his wife." Dame Mary Gale died in 1557. Her will, proved on 3/18/1557, bequeathed to her daughter Ursula a "tablett of golde," and to her god-daughter Jane Mallory her "flower of golde wythe the stone in yt, and
whthe a lytle chyne of golde." (Kaner) For further information on Gale, see "The History of Parliament."
Memorial Plaque ~ George Gale (died 1557) and Dean Thomas Gale (died 1702)
York Minster, Cathedral Church of St. Peter, South Choir Isle
After Francis Gale's death, Anne Clapham Thwaite Gale married JOHN INGLEBY (?? - buried 1/17/1610 at Hutton Rudby, Yorkshire) of Lawkland Hall, second brother of Sir William Ingleby of Ripley Castle. and grandson of SIR WILLIAM INGLEBY, KNIGHT
OF RIPLEY, and his wife, Cecily Talboys Ingleby. His father, WILLIAM INGLEBY, inherited Ripley Castle and the property has been in the Ingleby family for 700 years since the marriage of Sir Thomas Ingleby to Edeline Thwenge in 1308-09. In 2014 it is
owned by Sir Thomas Ingleby who is the 25th generation to live there. [SEE INGLEBY OF LAWKLAND HALL]
John Ingleby appears in the Subsidy lists in the 1560s as having the wardship of Robert Gale and is referred to as being of Acomb Grange. Ingleby served as governor of the port
of Leith, Edinburgh, and in 1572-73 he purchased the manor of Clapham with Clapdale and 24 messuages, 24 cottages, a water mill and a fulling mill. He also purchased Lawkland
Hall, near Settle in North Yorkshire, where he moved. His property was later mentioned in a warrant against William Clapham of Beamsley and his heir and John Clapham of
Beamsley, son of Robert Clapham, deceased, and heirs. John Ingleby left a will, dated 12/15/1608 and proved at York on 1/17/1610-11.
One of the sons of John and Ann Gale Ingleby was THOMAS INGLEBY (Abt. 1564 - 1622, Clapham, Yorkshire) who married ALICE LAWSON, daughter of Robert and Elizabeth
Brough Lawson, and had a son, JOHN INGLEBY, ESQ. (?? - 11/28/1648), who succeeded his father at Lawkland Hall. Their descendants continued to live there until the late
Brough Hall, Yorkshire (http://telstarbob.net/brough.htm)
THE LAWSON FAMILY
ALICE LAWSON INGLEBY, wife of Thomas Ingleby, was the daughter of RALPH LAWSON (1547 - 1623) & ELIZABETH BROUGH LAWSON, whose father was ROGER BROUGH of Brough/Burgh Hall in Catterick, Yorkshire. Elizabeth inherited Brough Hall
and the estate, conveyed by marriage to her husband, became the seat of the Lawson family. Alice Lawson Ingleby's siblings were Henry, Jane who married THOMAS ROKEBY, Margaret who married THOMAS RAKELEY and John who married SARAH
ROWLAND and had sons, ROLAND (?? - 5/3/1661, Lancaster County, Va.), RICHARD (?? - Abt. 1658), CHRISTOPHER (?? - ??), and EPAPHRODITUS (Abt. 1600 - 1656) LAWSON, all of whom went to America.
Both the Gale and Lawson families appear in Virginia where Epaphroditus Lawson acquired 6050 acres of land. On 9/3/1649 he patented land on Slaughter's Creek off the Rappahannock River adjacent to that of Major John Carter in what became Lancaster, then
Rappahannock, County. (Virginia Land Patents Book 2/180). He married Elizabeth Medestard/Madestard, daughter of Thomas Medestard, Sr. After the death of Epaphroditus, Elizabeth married WILLIAM CLAPHAM, JR. They owned 500 acres of land in
Lancaster County on the north side of the Rappahannock River near the head of a creek dividing the land of Major Carter from land formerly owned by Epaphroditus Lawson, deceased. Both William Clapham Sr. and Jr. were listed as curchwardens for the north
side of Lancaster Parish on 4/1/1652. William Clapham died in 1659-60 and his will, dated 1/16/1659/60 and proved 6/16/1660, named son William Clapham, daughter Ann and "wife my child now goeth with." Executors were his wife Elizabeth and his brother in law
Thomas Medestard (Lancaster Records, p. 75, Fleet's Colonial Abstracts) After Clapham's death Elizabeth married Alexander Fleming. When she died Fleming married Joyce Jones but died in 1668 and Joyce Jones Fleming married Lawrence Washington, brother
of Col. John Washington of Westmoreland. On 10/26/1666 a grant was made to Major John Weire for 3000 acres on the south side of the Rappahannock River on the southeast point "of a great island" in Virginia. The tract was described as part of 2000 acres
granted to Mr. Epaphroditus Lawson for the transport of 60 persons, including JOHN GAYLE (sic). (Virginia, Lancaster County, Patent Book 6/159)
V. ROBERT GALE (1554-56 - 1585) OF ACOMB GRANGE & CARLTON was born 1554-56 to Francis and Anne Clapham Gale. Around 1578 he married THOMASINE STAPLETON (Bapt. 8/7/1560 - ??) daughter of Sir Brian Stapleton of Carlton (1542 - 1606)
and second wife, Elizabeth Darcy Stapleton.
On 3/26/1578 Robert was shown as administrator of Francis Gale's estate. Rosamond Porter found that "there was only this one Robert, of Acomb Grange, indexed in its court rolls," and cited her sources as collateral trees and the 1604 list of Catholic Recusants.
As Roman Catholics the Gales intermarried with others of their faith in Yorkshire, including the Mallorys and Thwengs. They are not as prominent in recusant records as some of their peers, possibly being more successful at dodging the law by moving from
property to property. However, the following notation appears in an undated Elizabethan list of priests and Catholics, 'Mr. Gayle of Acame Grangre nere Yorke doth lye sumtymes at Carlton. He hath been eight yeres maryed and yet never came at the church. He
was marryed at the masse. He hath vi children who were all christened by the old law'. (Kaner)
Robert was granted a version of his father's arms that were said to have been painted on the Wapentake panels above the wainscoting in the Great Chamber at
GILLING CASTLE in North Yorkshire. [Apparently no longer visible.] There were 21 Wapentakes represented and each was given a tree with the coats of all
gentlemen then living in the district, including Robert Gale, hung on its branches. Robert Gale died about 1585. "The Inquest Post Mortem for Robert Gayle (sic) in
1585/6 recorded that he held the site of Wilberfoss Priory, Nunpallions in Escrick, Rufforth rectory and Acomb Grange," which he acquired from the Crown for his
military service and for rent amounting to 22 shillings, 6 pence. (Kaner)
Gilling Castle, originally owned by the Etton family, passed by marriage to Thomas Fairfax in 1489 and then to his grandson, Sir William Fairfax, in 1571. William,
who was interested in heraldry, rebuilt the house and decorated the Great Chamber with coats-of-arms signed by the artist on the painted glass - "Baernard
Dininckhoff; fecit. Ano, 1585." The arms of Sir William's four sisters and their husbands - Bellasis, Curwen, Vavasour, and Roos, each impaling Fairfax - adorned the
breast above the fireplace. The heraldry and genealogy of Sir William's second wife's family, the Stapletons, was demonstrated in painted glass panels in a south
window while the Fairfax family was represented in the bay window. An east window carried the story of the Constable family, since Sir William's only son Thomas
married Catharine Constable. No Gale arms appear online at Gilling Castle.
CHILDREN OF ROBERT & THOMASINE STAPLETON GALE
VI. FRANCIS (ca. 1579 - Possibly 1644) of Acomb Grange married Barbara Dutton (ca. 1582 - ??), dau of Richard Dutton and his wife Katherine Cholmondley Dutton.
VI. FRANCES (ca. 1579 - before 1613) married Richard Dutton (1578/9 - ??) of Cloughton near Scarborough ca. 1597. They had two sons and three daughters. Following the death of Frances, Richard Dutton married Margery Watson ca. 1613.
VI. JOHN (ca. 1583 - 1624) of Acomb, later Scruton, m. (1) Unknown wife, (2) ca. 1617 at Scruton Elizabeth Sycklin (ca. 1594 - 1621).
VI. THOMAS (ca. 1585 - ??) of Acomb, died without children.
VI. FRANCIS GALE (ca. 1579 - Est. 1644) OF ACOMB GRANGE & RUFFORTH was born to Robert and Thomasine Stapleton Gale ca. 1579. About 1602 he married BARBARA DUTTON (ca. 1582 - Living 1611), daughter of Richard and Katherine Cholmley
Dutton, of Cloughton.
Gale's ancestry was noted in legal proceedings when Francis Gayle (sic) Esq., and Barbara his wife, were mentioned in association with the Manor of Hunburton, 12 messuages [houses and adjacent land and buildings], 3 cottages and lands in Hunburton. Also
mentioned were the heirs of Robert Gayle (1556 - 1585) father of said Francis, and the heirs of Francis Gayle (1525 - Will 1561) grandfather of said Francis, and the heirs of George Gayle (1497 - 1556) great-grandfather of said Francis.
Among the many Catholic Recusants fined by the Crown for various infractions against the church, the Gales were fined for two thirds of the rents they received from their tenants and later lost their estates. From about 1603 they were "presented for recusancy
in a number of Ainsty parishes including Rufforth and Acomb." (Kaner) The family appears to have moved around, possibly to avoid molestation, and records linked them to Nether Poppleton, Bilton and Marston. Beginning in 1603/04 Francis Gale's wife
Barbara was named in records and in that year appeared in Marston. In 1611 she appeared again as Barbara, wife of Francis Gayle (sic) of Acomb Grange, and in 1615 Barbara, wife of Francis Gale of Rufforth, recusant, was ordered to the church to confer with a
Mr. Allerton. By 1607 the Gales were facing substantial debt and consequently mortgaged part of Acomb Grange and sold property in Wilberfoss and Escrick as well as the advowson of Rufforth. [Under English law, advowson is the right to nominate a person
to hold a church office in a parish]. By 1624 their property had been assigned to trustees and their property in Acomb was sold to one Peter Hill. In 1629 the family "agreed to pay an annual rent charge of £20 on all their estates in return for not being molested."
In addition to his religious persecution in 1637 Francis Gaile (sic) of Rufforth was said to have been the father of a child born to a maid servant, Isabel Crawe, who subsequently left Gale's employ. It was noted that since Francis was Lord of the town the church
wardens were reluctant to disclose his indiscretion. He died in 1644 and his will, proved in that year, is listed in the York Registry's Index of Wills.
CHILDREN OF FRANCIS & BARBARA DUTTON GALE
VII. ROBERT (1603 - ??) of Rufforth, married in 1624 to Elizabeth Langdale (Ch. 7/12/1601, Everingham - ??), daughter of William and Elizabeth Constable Langdale of Easthorpe. Members of this branch of the family went to the West Indies.
VII. MATTHEW (1606-07 - Living 1657) of Rufforth, used the name of Dutton. Trained for the priesthood at Douai (1629/32) and married Anne Thweng Fairfax, widow of Hungate Fairfax, sometime before 5/12/1638.
VII. GEORGE (ca. 1609-12 - ??) of Rufforth. [Matthew and George were named as the second and third sons of Francis Gale.]
VII. ROBERT GALE (Ca. 1603- LIVING 1665) OF ACOMB GRANGE, RUFFORTH, eldest son of Francis and Barbara Dutton Gale, was born about 1590. In 1624-25 he married ELIZABETH LANGDALE (Bapt. 7/12/1601 - ??), daughter of William Langdale of
Easthorpe and Lanthorpe (Ca. 1578 - ??) and his wife Elizabeth Constable (?? - 8/1624), daughter of Sir Philip Constable, whose marriage was recorded on 1/17/1591-92 in the Everingham Parish Register. Her grandparents were Richard and Joyce Thirkeld
Langdale and her great-grandparents were Anthony Langdale of Houghton (?? - 1577) and Jane Vavasour, daughter of Thomas Vavasour of Copmanthorpe.
The marriage settlement between Robert and Elizabeth Langdale Gale named Francis Gale of Acomb Grange, Esq. and his son Robert, and Philip Langdale, Esq., son and heir of William Langdale, Esq. of Lanthrop, Esq. It is contained in records of the
Chichester-Constable family in the East Riding of Yorkshire Archives and Records Service. The document also mentioned Mathew and George Gale, second and third sons of Francis Gale.
INDENTURE …between Francis Gale of Acome grange in the County of York Esqr. And Robert Gale Esqr…sone & heir apparent of the said Francis Gale…and Philip Langdale, Esqr. Sone & heir apparent of Wm Langdale, William Langdale of Lantrorp
in the said County of York Esqr. Of the other party witnesseth that they the said Fra Gale & Robt Gale, for & in consideration of a marriage hereafter shortly by God's permission to be had & solemnized between the said Robt Gale of the other partie, &
Eliz Langdale, one of the daughters of the said William Langdale, the father & sister to the said Philip Langdale the sone, of the otyher partie; and for & in consideration of the sume of DCCCii paid &c. to the said Francis Gale & Robt Gale &c. in the
marriage & porcon with the sd. Elizabeth his daugr &c.; they the sd. Francis & Robert Gale shall &c. at all & every time & times hereafter for evermore stand &c. and be seized of & in all that …and either of their manor, lordship and grange of Acome
aforesaid &c., & for the only use of the said Francis Gale during his life &c. & after for iij years to the use &c. of his last will & testament, if the said Francis Happen to dye within iij years after the date of these presents, &c. and after &c. then to the only
use &c. of the said Robt. Gale (for his life - remainder to the heires male of the said Robt Gale of the body of the said Elizabeth his intended wife, lawfully begotten &c. with divers & sundry remainders over, namely to Mattw Gale second sone of the said
Francis, & George Gale third sone of the said Francis) &c.
Signed Fra Gale
In 1637 and 1640 Robert Gale, gent. and Robert Gaile (sic), gent., and his wife, of Acomb Grange in the parish of Rufforth, respectively, were named on Catholic recusant lists. Named as papists were Matthew and Anna Gale, Mary Thwaits, Barbara Gale, Robert
Gale and his wife, John Gale and his mother Elizabeth, Mary Gale and Jane Gale. [These were most likely Matthew and Anne Thwenge Gale, Barbara Dutton Gale, and John, Jane and Mary Gale, children of Robert and Elizabeth Langdale Gale.] In 1648 Robert
Gale [referred to as a "papist in arms"] fought in the civil war but was unable to pay his fees for compounding and all the family property in Rufforth, including Acomb Grange, was sold by the Treason Committee of the Commonwealth in 1652 to Thomas Raper
and Joseph Micklethwaite of York…At the time there were seven Rufforth tenants holding messuages, arable strips, meadow and parts of Smalwith. (Kaner) Afterwards Acomb Grange came under ownership by London merchant John Lawrence, who sold his
interest to Thomas Creswick in 1659. Creswick immediately transferred the property to Edward Gaile (sic), clock-maker of York, who then leased it back to Robert Gale for 99 years. Attempts to hold the property failed and it was sold in 1663-64 to the Marwood
family of Little Busby for £3,800. The Gales were slow to leave the property so a legal agreement was drawn up requiring them to vacate Acomb Grange by Lady Day in 1666. The family was recorded in the Hearth Tax in 1665 with one house of five hearths and
one of four and continued to live in Rufforth since they appear there with four hearths in 1670. Their names also appear on lists of recusants for Rufforth until 1682.
CHILDREN OF ROBERT & ELIZABETH LANGDALE
VIII. BARBARA (ca. 1626 - ??) 1656 married Richard Mallet (1622 - 1668) of Normanton, West Yorkshire. No children.
VIII. FRANCIS (ca. 1628 - 1644) of Rufforth. Died young.
VIII. JANE (ca. 1630 - ??) of Rufforth.
VIII. MARY (ca. 1632 - ??) of Rufforth.
VIII. ROBERT (ca. 1634 - Living 1667) married in 1667 to Anne Thorold (?? - 1670, buried at St. Giles, Cripplegate, London), daughter of Edmund Thorold of Hough-on-the-Hill, Lincs. They had three children before Anne Gale died in 1670 "in child-bed."
VIII. JOHN/JONATHAN (12/1637 - 1689) third son of Robert Gale of Akeham (sic) went to Jamaica in 1655 and married Mary Jackson (12/24/1647 - 4/10/1711) and had children.
VIII. ROBERT GALE (ca. 1634-37 - Buried 1686) OF RUFFORTH & LONDON was born to Robert and Elizabeth Langdale Gale about 1634. He married ANNE THOROLD of Hough-on-the-Hill, Lincolnshire, and daughter of Edmond Thorold, and had three
children before Anne Gale died in child-birth in 1670. She was buried at St. Giles, Cripplegate and Robert was also buried there on 4/24/1686.
CHILDREN OF ROBERT & ANNE THOROLD GALE
IX. ALICE (1667 - ??)
IX. ROBERT (1669 -??) of Lincoln's Inn married Saladine Robinson of Hertfordshire at Chelsea, Middlesex, on 6/10/1703. Children unknown. Lincoln's Inn, along with Middle Temple, Inner Temple and Gray's Inn, is one of four Inns of Court in London to which
lawyers of England and Wales belong. It is located in Holborn in the London Borough of Camden.
IX. ANN (1670 - ??)
VIII. JOHN/JONATHAN GALE (12/1637 - 1689) OF ENGLAND & JAMAICA was the third son of Robert and Elizabeth Langdale Gale of Akeham (sic). Jonathan went to Jamaica in 1655, married MARY JACKSON (12/24/1647 - 4/10/1711) and had children.
[SEE CHAPTER 6]
VII. MATTHEW GALE/GAILE (1606/7 - Living 1657) OF RUFFORTH was born on 7/1606-07 to Francis and Barbara Dutton Gale. He used the name of Dutton and is recorded in 1629 as a student at Douai College where he had trained for the priesthood. He
returned home for four years following difficulties in his studies and "refusing to provide a 'discourse for the Ascension." (Kaner) As penance he was ordered to spend his lunch time kneeling and also write an essay. He left college at that point, "but returned
later, did his penance, completed his studies and returned home…" (Kaner)
Sometime before 5/12/1638 Matthew married ANN THWENG (Abt. 1608, Heworth, England - ??), daughter of a Catholic family from Heworth, where he was living in 1640. Ann was the widow of Hungate Fairfax, Gentleman, of Dunsley. It is not known whether
Matthew and Ann Thweng Gale had children. He held property at Rufforth in 1652 and was presented as a recusant there from 1657 through 1684. In 1663 he was listed as a "Papist" along with Barbara Gale, Robert Gale and wife, John Gale and Elizabeth (his
mother), Mary Gale, and Jane Gale. He appeared in records as Matthew Gayle, Matthew Gale, and Matthew Gaile, Gent. of Acomb Grange.
VI. JOHN GALE (ca. 1583 - 1624) OF ACOMB, LATER SCRUTON, was the son of Robert and Thomasine Stapleton Gale. John is said to have married (1) UNKNOWN WIFE and (2) ELIZABETH SYCKLIN (ca. 1594 - 1621) in November of 1617 at Scruton.
They had at least one son, Christopher (?? - buried 1621).
CHILD OF JOHN AND UNKNOWN/ELIZABETH SYCKLIN GALE
VII. CHRISTOPHER (?? - buried 1621)
VII. POSSIBLY OTHERS
V. JOHN GAILE (sic) - (Est. mid-1500s - 1630), FARMER & YEOMAN OF SCRUTON, was born to Robert and Anne Clapham Thwaite Gale. About 1595 he married JANE (UNKNOWN) - (?? - 1630) and had five children, all baptized at Scruton. John was
buried at Scruton on 10/20/1630 and left a will dated 10/23/1630 and proved on 11/18/1630 at Leeds. It mentions his son "John Gaile", his daughter "Dorothy Gaile", sons "Christofer Gaile, Raiphe Gaile" and son-in-law William Burton. Jane Gale was buried at
Scruton on 10/1/1630. [A photocopy of John Gaile's will is at the West Yorkshire Archives, Shepscar Library, Leeds.]
This John Gale is identified in many records as JOHN GALE (ca. 1550-60 - 1624) who married in 1616 to JANE FRANK (Bapt. 2/10/1553-4 - 1624). a union disputed by researcher Rosamond Porter, deceased. In the Yorkshire Archeological Journal, Volume 14,
Paver's Marriage Licenses for Yorkshire for 1616 note the marriage of RICHARD GALE to JANE FRANK at Pontefract, but no Richard appears in the Gale Pedigree given by Foster. A notation states, "This entry is perplexing. No Richard appears in the Gale
pedigree given by Foster; but John Gale of Scruton married Jane, daughter of John Frank of Pontefract (Dugdale's Visitation, 1665, p. 3) and both died (probably of the plague) in 1624. They were the grandparents of the learned Dean of York, but his
son, Christopher Gale, was born in the year 1597." In fact, Dugdale's Visitation states, "Jane, wife unto John (1 Richard) Gale" was baptized at Pontefract 2/10/1553-4 and married 11/5/1616. And there is no explanation of the appearance of (1 Richard) Gale
as it appears. Furthermore, if Jane was baptized as a child in 1553-54, this would make her 63 years old at the time of her marriage, which is possible but unlikely. Additionally, Burke cites the birth date of John's son, Christopher, as 1597 and that of ihs son John
as 1601, both years before his marriage to Jane Frank in 1616.
THE INGLEBY FAMILY OF RIPLEY CASTLE also lists JOHN GALE who married JANE FRANK as the son of ROBERT GALE (1525 - 1561) and ANNE CLAPHAM THWAITES GALE. Here, John's birth date is given as 1575 and Robert and Anne Gale's
marriage date as 1590 [15 years after his birth] instead of 1549 as cited in other records. Additionally, there are 20-plus years betwen John's birth date of 1575 and Jane's baptism date of 1553-4. The citation given on the site is a descendancy on genealogy.com
with a suggested marriage date for Robert and Anne of 1570 which also does not work since Robert Gale died in 1561.
CHILDREN OF JOHN AND JANE GAILE
VI. CHRISTOPHER (Baptized 3/26/1597 - ??) Christopher Gale, Esq., farmer of Scruton, married (1) Frances Rounthwaite of Bishopton in 1626 and (2) Frances Conyers.
VI. RALPH/RAIPHE (Baptized on 6/21/1599 - ??) of Scruton and locksmith of York married (1) Alice Benfleet in 1622 at York, (2) Dorothy March. [One Ralph Gale, son of John, was buried on 2/23/1696 at Kirkby Overblow.
VI. JOHN (Bapt. 12/7/1601 - 1685/6), of Scruton and Farnley Hall, Leeds, married about 1644 to Joanna Dodson (ca. 1628 - 1696) of Kirkby Overblow, daughter of Miles Dodson and Lucy Cooke, daughter of Rev. Peter Cooke of Sutton-upon-Derwent.
VI. MARGARET OR ANNE (Bapt. 3/18/1603 - ??) married William Burton of Scruton on 7/26/1620 and resided at Cundall.
VI. DOROTHY (Bapt. 11/1/1607 - ??) married Richard Harrison in 1634 at York. Porter noted that two children, John and Grace, were named as legatees in Ralph Gale's will.
VI. CHRISTOPHER GALE (1597 - ??), YEOMAN FARMER OF SCRUTON & MASHAM, was born in 1597 to John and Jane Gale at Scruton and was baptized there on 3/26/1597-98. He married FRANCES CONYERS (?? - 1656) of Holtby and had children.
[The marriage of one CHRISTOPHER GALE to FRANCIS (sic) ROUNTWHAITE (1597 - 1663) on 12/19/1626 at Cundall, a township in the Ripon District, is recorded in the parish register. Her father was Ninian Rounthwaite of Bishopton, Ripon, Yorkshire and
her sister Isabel was the wife of a tailor in Ripon. Based on the time frame, it raises the question of whether Christopher was married twice.
CHILDREN OF CHRISTOPHER & FRANCES CONYERS GALE
VII. THOMAS (Bapt. 1636 - 1702) married Barbara Pepys, ca. 1670, daughter of Roger Pepys.
VII. CORDELIA (baptized at Scruton, died in infancy, 1637)
VII. WILLIAM (baptized at Scuton and died the following day)
VII. JOHN (?? - ??)
VII. FRANCES (baptized at Scruton)
VII. CHRISTOPHER (baptized at Scruton)
VIII. THOMAS GALE (BAPT. 1685 - LIVING 1750), RECTOR OF LINTON was born to Miles and Margery Stone Gale and baptized on 9/3/1685 at St. Michael le Belfry. His
wife is unknown but he is said to have had one son, William.
Thomas Gale was rector of Linton, in Craven, from 1716 until 1750. In 1726 both Thomas and his brother, Edmund, appeared in records of Bertie County, North Carolina. Thomas
was the subject of a letter [see below] by his father written on 4/22/1715 to the Secretary of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts when Miles, Sr. was 67
years old. The three sons referred to in the letter were Christopher, Edmund, and Miles. Christopher and Edmund were both married and living at the time the letter was written
and Miles died prior to 1715. Thomas Gale's date of death is unknown.
One of George Gale's properties was ACOMB GRANGE, located on the outskirts of York only 2.75 miles from York Minster. The region of
Acomb appears as early as 1086 in the Domesday Book with portions owned by the King and the Archbishop of York. "The history of the
Grange as a separate entity starts when Henry I gave two carucates of land [a unit of assessment equaling 120 acres] in Acomb to the Hospital
of St. Peter in York by a charter dated between 1123 and 1133…" (Kaner) The property passed out of the hands of the hospital after the
dissolution of the monasteries during the reign of King Henry VIII and by 1545 "Acomb Grange had been leased for 3 lives to Ralph Bagnall,
king's servant, and Richard Mainwaring and Mary his wife, late wife of George Cotton." (Kaner) In 1552/53 George Gale purchased a reversion
of the Bagnall lease and was recorded as a farmer, lessee of the manor of Acomb. At his death the property was inherited by his son, Robert
Francis Gale, who sold it to Sir Henry Knyvett in 1584. From that time until the late 1990s the freehold ownership of the manor had been in the
hands of only five families. The present house, designed by architect John Etty, was built in 1694 on the site of the original dwelling. It was
extensively renovated during the Georgian period and several new rooms were added between 1810 and 1820.
Scruton Hall, central portion built 1705 by Roger Henry Gale
Keighley Parish Church, St. Andrews, Church Green, 1848
VIII. Mary (Bapt. 1687 - ??)
VIII. Edmund (Bapt. 1690 - ??) [See NC]
VIII. John (Bapt. 1692 - ??)
Ripley Castle (http://www.ripleycastle.co.uk/)
In 1675, Thomas obtained the degrees of Bachelor of Divinity and Doctor of Divinity at Trinity College, Cambridge. In 1676 he was appointed prebendary of St. Paul's School. In 1677 he was appointed a fellow of the prestigious Royal Society of London for the
Improvement of Natural Knowledge, which among other members at that time included Sir Isaac Newton, Sir Christopher Wren, and Samuel Pepys.
In 1688 Dr. Thomas Gale purchased Scruton Manor from Sir Abstrubus Danby on land originally purchased by Thomas Danby Esq. in 1575 near the site of Markenfield Hall. It was on this property that Gale's son, Roger, built Scruton Hall in 1705. A letter
dated 12/7/1942 from Alban Coore to Pamela Knox O'Connor states that the property at one time comprised 1800 acres and that the original manor house had 26 rooms and several dependencies including stables for upwards of 17 horses. According to a
history of Scruton there were three shields at Scruton Hall indicative of arms granted to some of the Gales. Barbara Pepys Gale died on 6/5/1689 at age 40 following the birth of her youngest son, Thomas. She was buried at St. Faith's, London, and her cousin,
Samuel Pepys, became godfather to Thomas Gale, Jr. Meanwhile, Thomas Sr. and Pepys had become great friends and following her death became even closer. Pepys was a member of the Royal Society and counted among his friends and associates Sir Isaac
Newton. According to his diary, Newton and Gale dined together at the Pepys home in 1692.
On 9/16/1697 Thomas, referred to as Reverend, became Dean of York, collaborating with Dr. Francis Drake, Sir Christopher Wren and Robert Hooke, all noted English notables. He died on 4/7/1702 while servingin that capacity and was buried there. He is
commemorated on a plaque along with his ancestor, George Gale. Thomas cared for the cathedral in the latter part of the 17th century and was known for his devotion. He attended as many services as possible, always sitting in the same pew. At his death he
was much mourned by the congregation and the local preacher stopped abruptly at the start of his sermon, announcing that Dean Gale was listening from his pew. His son Roger inherited Scruton Hall. Thomas left most of his historic manuscripts to his sons
Roger and Thomas Gale, who were scholars in their own right/ Trinity College has another of his manuscripts.
Mr. Ralph Thoresby (1658 - 1725), a noted Yorkshire antiquarian, wrote an account entitled Memoirs of the Family of Gale, particularly of the learned Dr. Thomas Gale, Dean of York, and Christopher Gale, Esq., Her Majesty's Attorney-General in North
Carolina. In it he maintained that Dr. Thomas Gale was a descendant of James Gale of Thrintoft. According to the Yorkshire Archaeological Society Journal, Volume I, "Dr. Thomas Gale, Deane of this Cathedrall (York) died the seaventh of Aprill, att twelelve
(sic) of the clock in the night, and was bur. The 15 of Aprill, 1702, in a Lead Coffin." He was buried at York Minster.
ARMS OF THOMAS GALE, D. D. -- Azure a fesse between three saltires argent with three lions' heads razed argent on the fesse.
CHILDREN OF THOMAS & BARBARA PEPYS GALE
VIII. ROGER (1672 - 6/25/1744) married at York Minster 8/11/1702 to Henrietta (1677 - 1720), daughter of Henry Raper, of Cowling Hall, Kent.
VIII. ELIZABETH #1 (11/15/1675 - 4/8/1677) buried at St. Faith's, London.
VIII. CHARLES (8/6/1677 - 1738) was in the Holy Orders. He was Rector of Scruton, married Cordelia Thwaites (?? - 1721) of Burrel, the daughter of Thomas Thwaites.
VIII. BARBARA GALE (10/21/1678, London - buried 8/31/1682, St. Faith's, London) christened 10/21/1678 in Saint Faiths- London.
VIII. KATHERINE GALE (3/8/1679-80 - buried 7/15/1680) buried at St. Faith's, London
VIII. THOMAS GALE (11/16/1681 - buried 8/27/1682, St. Faith's, London)
VIII. SAMUEL (12/17/1682 - 1/10/1754) born at St. Faith's, London, and baptized on 12/20/1682. Samuel Pepys was his godfather. He was educated at St. Paul's School and at Trinity College, at Cambridge University. After his father's death, he was one of the
land surveyors of the Customs House in London. He was revivor of the Society of Antiquaries in 1717 and its first treasurer. He left a valuable collection of manuscripts behind him, but printed nothing in his lifetime except a "History of Winchester Cathedral,"
in 1715. Samuel never married and died of fever on 1/10/1754 at "the Chicken House," Hampstead, where he was residing. He was buried in St. George's, Queen-Square, London, by his brother-in-law, Dr. William Stukeley on 1/14/1754.
VIII. THOMAS GALE #2 (7/26/1684, Scruton, York - buried 8/11/1684 St. Faith's, London.
VIII. BARBARA GALE #2 (7/23/1685, Scruton, York - ??) buried at St. Faith's, London.
VIII. ELIZABETH #2 (8/30/1687, Scruton - 1757) baptized 9/8/1687, was the second wife of Rev. Wm. Stukeley (11/7/1687, Holbeach, co. Lincoln - 3/3/1765) M. D., F.S.A., Rector of All Saint's, Stamford. He attended Bennet College, Cambridge, in 1703 and
studied medicine at St. Thoms's Hospital London. He set up practice in 1710 and became a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1717. He received the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1719 and in 1720 became a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians. In 1726 he
settled at Grantham, Co. Lincoln, and became a celebrated medical practitioner. But following severe attacks of gout, he entered into the holy orders and in 1747 the Duke of Montague gave him the rectory of St. George the Martyr, Queen Square. Stukeley
became a member of the Society of Antiquaries in 1718 and was a great friend to his brother-in-law, Roger Gale. He was a Freemason and Vicar of All Saiint's Church at Stamford. He died at the rectory on 3/3/1765 and was buried in the churchyard of East Ham,
VIII. THOMAS GALE #3 (5/16/1689, Scruton, York - 7/5/1717) A.B. of Trinity College, Cambridge, 1708, died unmarried and without issue.
VII. REV. THOMAS GALE, D.D. (Bapt. 1636 - 1702), OF SCRUTON, YORKSHIRE, and LONDON, was born at Scruton in 1635-36. Thomas was described as "the only surviving child of
Christopher Gale, esq. of Scruton in the North Riding, great-grandson of George Gale, master of the Mint, by Frances, daughter of Mr. Conyers of Holtby." (Yorkshire Archaeological and
Topographical Journal, Vol. I)
Thomas was educated at The Royal College of St. Peter in Westminster where he was admitted as a King's scholar. He was granted a fellowship in 1655 to Trinity-College, Cambridge, and
received a Bachelor of Arts degreee in 1658 and Master of Arts in 1662. An eminent Greek scholar, in 1666 he was appointed Regius Professor of Greek at Trinity Colleges, having published a
collection of the ancient Mythological Writers, entitled Opuscula Mythologica Ethica et Physica, Graece et Latine. A classical scholar and antiquarian, he is remembered most for his
collection of works on Early English history, entitled Historiae Anglicanae Scriptores and Historiae Britannicae, Saxonicae, Anglo-Danicae scriptores XV. Thomas was Vicar of Barrington,
Cambridge, in 1667. He became High Master of St. Paul's School, London, from 1672 to 1697 and in 1672 he was employed by the London Court of Aldermen to help write the inscription on the
Great Fire of London Monument. From 1672 to 1697 he served as high master of St Paul's School in London.
On 1/1/1673 in Impington, Cambridge, England, Thomas married BARBARA PEPYS (12/22/1649 in Impington, Cambridge, England - 1689), daughter of Roger Pepys, Esq. of Impington,
Cambridge, and cousin of the eminent diarist Samuel Pepys (1633 - 1703). The couple had 11 children but only 5 survived to adulthood. They were members of the Parish of St. Faith's, London.
He acquired the degrees of B.D. and D.D. at Cambridge in 1675 and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Antiquaries in 1677, becoming one of its honorary secretaries. In 1676 Thomas
was Canon of St. Paul's.
II. OLIVER GALE (ca. 1471 - ??) OF THRINTOFT, was born about 1471 to James Gale of Scruton. He married (1) ELLEN MARSHALL of Richmondshire and had two sons, George and James. He married (2) - (UNKNOWN) and had another son, Gregory. The family
resided at Studely. Oliver Gale went to Ireland during the reign of King Henry VIII (1509 - 1547) with troops sent to occupy the country during the early 1530s. He left descendants who owned the Ashfield estate in the barony of Slievemargy, parish of Killabban,
County Laois (Queen's County), Ireland from 1659 to 1851. [SEE CHAPTER 4]
ARMS OF OLIVER GALE: Azure, on a fesse between three crosses saltire humette' Argent, as many lions' heads erased of the first.
[Another notation stated, "Alibi (sic) Gale's arms is Azure a fece betw 3 sawterells Argent on the fece 3 lions' heads erased Azure. The Crest: "On a wrethe Argent and Azure an Unycorne hede paly of 6 Azure & or." Alibi is probably a misspelling of Oliver. The arms
are slightly different.] (Visitation of Yorkshire, 1563-64)
CHILDREN OF OLIVER & (1) ELLEN MARSHALL GALE:
III. JAMES (ca. 1490 - ??) married (Unknown) and resided in Spain and Ireland
III. GEORGE (ca. 1490 - 7/2/1556-57) married Mary Lord and had 2 sons and 6 daughters.
CHILDREN OF OLIVER & (2) UNKNOWN GALE:
III. GREGORY (?? - ??) Named as a legatee in George's will.
III: JAMES GALE (1490s/1500s -??) OF SCRUTON, MERCHANT OF YORK, was born to Oliver and Ellen Marshall Gale around 1490. He married (Unknown), possibly in Spain, and, according to the Visitation of Yorkshire in 1563-64, he had no issue. However,
later researchers disagreed and credited him with six daughters who married in Ireland and an only son, Robert Gale, said to have been born in Tralee, County Kerry, Ireland. According to tradition, James' descendants included Irish dissenters who left Tralee during
the Irish Rebellion [1641 - 49] and settled in Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, later migrating to Whitehaven about 1665 in the person of John Gale. [SEE CHAPTER2]
THE ARMS OF JAMES GALE: Gules a Griffin Ermine rampant, a bordure gobony Argent and vert. [Flower's Visitation of Yorkshire
CHILDREN OF JAMES GALE & UNKNOWN WIFE
IV. SIX DAUGHTERS WHO MARRIED IN IRELAND
IV. ROBERT GALE: (ca. 1523 - ??) married (1) his first cousin, Elizabeth Gale Garbray (ca. 1527 - ??), daughter of George and Mary Lord Gale and widow of Thomas Garbray (?? - ca. 1560) of Beverley who left a will dated 1560. Robert married (2) Unknown.
IV. ROBERT GALE (ca. 1523 - ??) OF TRALEE was born ca. 1523 to JAMES GALE & (UNKNOWN). Robert married about 1562 (1) ELIZABETH GALE GARBRAY (ca. 1527 -??), his first cousin, daughter of GEORGE & MARY LORD GALE, and widow of Thomas
Robert Garbray. (?? - 1560) of Beverley, East Yorkshire, who left a will dated 1560. This marriage united the two branches of the family. He married (2) Unknown.
CHILDREN OF ROBERT by ELIZABETH GARBRAY GALE
V. FRANCIS (ca. 1563 - by 1607), of York and Winestead, East Yorkshire, married Frances Hildyard (?? - 1639, Routh) of Winestead on 6/7/1590 and had children. After Francis' death his widow married John Pearson of Holmpton in 1607.
V. THOMAS (ca. 1569 - ??) of York died without children.
CHILD OF ROBERT by (UNKNOWN) GALE
V. POSSIBLY ROBERT (ca. 1570s) *REPRESENTING THE MISSING GENERATION IDENTIFIED BY PORTER
V. ROBERT ? (ca. 1560s - ??) representing missing generation, married (Unknown) and had Robert Gale (ca. 1590 - 1656).
CHILD OF ROBERT & UNKNOWN GALE
VI. ROBERT (ca. 1590 - 1656) of Yorkshire and Tralee, County Kerry Ireland.
VI. ROBERT (ca. 1590 - 1656) OF ACOMB & TRALEE was born to Robert and (Unknown) Gale around 1590, in Yorkshire. Robert moved from Acomb to Tralee in County Kerry, Ireland. After the Irish Rebellion in 1641, the family went to Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
and later settled in Whitehaven, Cumberland, in the person of Robert's son, John.
CHILDREN OF ROBERT GALE & UNKNOWN WIFE
VII. JOHN GALE, THE ELDER (Abt. 1615, Tralee, County Kerry, Ireland - 1680) married Elizabeth Ghiver about 1660 and had five children, born between 1660 and 1665. [SEE CHAPTER 2 for a continuation of this line]. An Irish Non-Conformist, John immigrated to
Newcastle-on-Tyne and in 1663-65 to Whitehaven, Cumberland. While there is no proof, it is entirely possible that John's siblings, George, Robert, Matthew, and sister Mary, immigrated to the colonies where one Matthew Gale was granted land in Gloucester
County, Virginia, in 1672. [John Gale's siblings were identified by Porter, but are not substantiated.]
VII. MATTHEW (?? - ??) -- There is a question of whether this Matthew Gale was the Matthew Gayle of Gloucester and Spotsylvania Counties in Virginia who immigrated in 1672. [SEE CHAPTER 8]
VII. GEORGE (?? - ??)
VII. ROBERT (?? - ??)
VII. MARY (?? - ??)
V. FRANCIS GALE (ca. 1563 - before 1607) OF YORK & WINESTEAD, EAST YORKSHIRE was the son of Robert and Elizabeth Garbary Gale. Francis married in 1590 to FRANCES HILDYARD (?? - 1639) of Winestead and had four children. After Francis' death
his widow married John Pearson of Holmpton in 1607.
CHILDREN OF FRANCIS & FRANCES HILDYARD GALE
VI. CHRISTOPHER (1591 - ??) of Winestead.
VI. RICHARD (1592 - 1610) of Winestead, buried at Patrington, unmarried.
VI. JOHN (1594 - ??) of Winestead.
VI. URSULA (1595 - ??) of Winestead, married Robert Robinson of Routh, near Beverley.
III. GEORGE GALE (ca. 1490 - 1556-57), LORD MAYOR OF YORK, was born by 1490 to Oliver and Ellen Marshall Gale of Thirntoft where his grandfather James was living in 1523. In 1526 George married MARY LORD (ca. 1500 - 1557), daughter of Robert Lord of
Kendal House, Driffield, East Yorkshire, and had children.
A goldsmith, Gale came to York about 1515. By 1524 he had become wealthy and was living in Belfray parish where he was engaged in general trading. In 1526 he became Master of the Royal Mint and later, Receiver of the Trees. He became an alderman in 1529, was
appointed sheriff in 1530 and was elected to Parliament following the death of his kinsman, Peter Jackson, in 1531. In 1534 he became Lord Mayor of York. In 1542 he was again elected to Parliament and on 4/3/1545 he was appointed Under Treasurer of the Royal
Mint serving during the reign of Edward VI (1547 - 1553) and retaining the post until February of 1554. In 1549 he was elected mayor for the second time.
Gale owned extensive properties and on 11/24/1529 he acquired the "Manor and capital house called Bardolgarth, 1 1/2 oxgangs arable; 3 parcels called the Connygarth, Coppleryddyng and Leythryddyng enclosed together; 6 cottages in the town; 3ac. meadow in
the E. end of the Westing; 9ac. called Forby Lande (i.e. 3ac. in the E. end of Northwoodes, 4ac. in the Grenegayles in the Mylnefeild, and 2ac. in the Wayte Sykes); a great close called the Pallyons and a little close called Calfe Close ('sometyme takyn and dykyd
forth of the [ ] Pallyons'); the Chylde Hagg; a shaw called Lond Woode (9ac); 1ac. pasture in Dansouryddyng; 1ac. 3 1/2r. in Holmeyng; and 1ac. called the Armytage all in Escrick. All interest of E.S. in moiety of a windmill there (in holding of John Dayson milner) and
in the advowson of the parish church of St. Ellyn of Escryk. The seller was Edmonde Salvane and the price was £90. (Papers of the Forbes Adam/Thompson/Lawley (Barons Wenlock) Family of Escrick. http://slb-archives.hull.ac.uk/
DServe/deserve.exe?dsqIni=Dserve.ini&dsqApp=Archive&dsqDb=Catalog&dsqCmd=show.tcl&dsqSearch= (RefNo==%22DDFA/xl/5/52%2) &PF=Yes)
The MANOR OF ESCRICK in Yorkshire was mentioned in records as early as 1323 as owned by Roger de Lascelles. It was later divided between the Lascelles heirs and the Crown. In 1339 Roger's daughter, Avice le Constable, granted Escrick Hall to John Bardolf
who changed the name to BARDOLGARTH MANOR. A year later Bardolf conveyed a portion of the property to Nicholas Dammory who was described in 1362 as lord of a quarter of Escrick. In 1372 William Bardolf conveyed the manor to William Sandford and in
1530 Edmund Sandford sold it to George Gale. With this purchase, Gale became only the second Tudor Alderman of York to be a manorial Lord.
In 1539 George Gale appeared at Petergate, parish of Holy Trinity, Goodramgate, where his sister-in-law, Elizabeth Lord, came to live after the dissolution of the monasteries. Gale himself had joined in the speculation in monastic properties prevalent during the period
and acquired the Rectory at Rufforth, a small village west of York, and portions of Wilberfoss Priory, founded in the mid-1100s in the East Riding where other Catholic Recusant families lived. Elizabeth Lord was the last prioress at Wilberfoss and at its dissolution
was one of only 11 nuns remaining there. Wilberfoss suffered financial hardship and by 1526 its annual value had been reduced to £12 and Elizabeth's annual pension was £8.
THE GALES OF ENGLAND did not appear in the Domesday Book of 1086. However, several families with the name held lands in Yorkshire at Scruton that were allotted after the Norman Conquest to the Lascelles family who owned them until the end of the
AGNES DEL GAYLLE (Living 1379) was listed on the Poll Tax of Yorkshire.
JOHANNA DEL GAYLLE & JOHANNES DEL GAYLE (Living 1379) are listed on the Poll Tax of Yorkshire.
ROBERT DE GALE (Living 1402) was listed in the Register of the Freemen of the City of York.
THOMAS DEL GAYLE (Living 1365) was listed in the Register of the Freemen of York.
WILLELMUS GAYLE (Living 1379) was listed on the Poll Tax of Yorkshire
ALSO OF YORKSHIRE WAS THE FAMILY OF JAMES GALE, who has been studied by many researchers. One of the most diligent was Rosamond Porter, deceased (1915 - Before 2006), of England who completed a pedigree of the family in January of 1981
that was distributed to public sector librarians and private sector researchers in England. It came to me from the library in Whitehaven, Cumberland, England. The goal of Porter's report was to clarify misconceptions and offer her own view of how the lines
descended. In doing so, she noted contradictions found in some of the earlier Gale trees and discovered a missing generation. Her work differs in varying degrees with several pre-published genealogies, including portions set forth by Burke and,
importantly, the Gale Pedigree compiled by Roger Gale, Esq. in his Memoirs of the Family of Gale. Porter cited proof from wills, collateral trees, pre-published literature and a 1604 report of Catholic Recusants. Some of Porter's theories remain
unsubstantiated, but her findings offer additional avenues of study. Those interested may request copies from the library in Whitehaven.
THERE ARE MANY ERRORS ONLINE FOR THIS FAMILY that are perpetuated in written genealogies, online and off. Consequently, one of the goals of this site is to correct as many misconceptioms as possible, offer up alternative theories and present
well researched information. THE JAMES GALE TREE below is a working study compiled based on research and combining Porter's work with critical analysis of records listed in the Bibliography. Please CONTACT ME with comments, questions and
corrections. They are most welcome and will be acknowledged and incorporated provided sources are given.
II. Oliver (1471 - ??) m. (1) Ellen Marshall, m. (2) Unknown
V. Thomas (1552 - died in infancy)
V. George #1 (ca. 1553 - died in infancy)
V. George #2 (ca. 1560 - died in infancy)
V. Mary (1558-59 - ??) m. (1) James Thwaite, Esq. of Marston (?? - 1602-03) and ca. 1605 (2) Thomas Meynell (1564 - 1653) as his 2nd wife
V. Frances (1560-62 - ??), posthumous child
V. John (ca. 1556 or 1566 - 1630) m. ca. 1596 Jane (Unknown) -- Not Jane Frank, according to Porter
V. Robert (1554 - Aft. 1590) of Acomb Grange (Ward of John Ingleby, 1560s, Admin. of father's estate 3/26/1578, possibly on 21st birthday) m. Thomasine Stapleton (Bapt. 1560 - ??)
VI. Thomas (ca. 1585 -??) no children
VI. Frances (ca. 1579 - before 1613) m. ca. 1597 Richard Dutton
VI. John (ca. 1583 - 1624) m. (1) Unknown m. 1617 (2) Elizabeth Sycklin, (ca. 1594 - 1621)
VII. Christopher (?? - buried 1621)
I. JAMES GALE (ca. 1445 - 1523) was born to unknown parents around 1445 . He married (UNKNOWN) and had one known son, Oliver Gale, and there were probably other children. In 1523
James was residing at Thrintoft, Yorkshire, just northeast of Scruton, in the parish of AINDERBY STEEPLE in the hundred of East Gilling and North Riding in Yorkshire. The parish, including the
townships of Ainderby Steeple, Morton, Thrintoft and Warlaby, is located near Scruton on the Northallerton and Bedale road between the rivers Wiske and Swale. The parish church of St. Helen's
was first erected there sometime between 1300 and 1350 and enlarged in the 13th, 14th and 15th centuries.
CHILDREN OF JAMES & (UNKNOWN) GALE
II. OLIVER (Living 1530s) married (1) Ellen Marshall and (2) Unknown.
Hauxwell Hall Gatehouse, home of the Daltons
© Gordon Hatton & licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons License
V. *Unknown son, possibly Robert (ca. 1570s) representing missing generation
Roger Henry Gale inherited Scruton Hall and was Fellow Commoner of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge. An uncharitable tale by a descendant noted that in 1745, when Prince Charles marched south from Scotland, local defense associations were
formed all over Yorkshire. According to the tale, Roger Henry Gale, a ne'er-do-well son of the famous Roger, fled rather precipitately with his family to Stamford. In fact he was probably in more danger at Stamford than he would have been at
Scruton, for the Pretender came down the west coast route and never touched Yorkshire. He found that his expected Catholic support never materialized and he retreated in disarray. Poor Roger Henry ran into trouble of another sort on his way
back to Scruton. Due to floods and bad roads, the 125 mile journey lasted 5 days. (http://www.knoxetal.com/scruton/scruton.htm) Roger Henry Gale died on 2/23/1769 and Scruton Hall passed to his son, Henry Gale. George Crowe, Esq. (1702 - 1782),
Catherine's brother, was executor of Roger's estate and guardian of his daughters.
CHILDREN OF ROGER HENRY AND CATHERINE CROWE GALE
X. ROGER (1743 - 1751) at age 8.
X. HENRY (1744 - 5/27/1821) married Mary, only daughter and heiress of Francis and Mary Tasker Dalton, Esq. of Hawkswell, in St. Andrew's, Holborn, on 4/3/1779. He inherited Scruton Hall.
X. SAMUEL (1746 - Living 1810) referred to in records as Samuel Gale, M. A., Rector of Everingham and precentor of Llandaff. H.O., A.B. of Corpus Christi Coll., Camb., 6/7/1773.
X. HARRIET (1745 - ??) married Capt. John Atkinson Blanshard.
X. CATHERINE (1741 - 1744) died young.
X. CATHERINE #2 (1752 - ??) nothing further.
X. CHRISTOPHER (1756 - 1805) [From Pedigree of Gale, of Scruton]
ARMS OF ROGER HENRY GALE, ESQ. (1710 - 1768) OF SCRUTON HALL
ARMS: Azure on a fesse between three saltaires argent, as many lions' heads erased of the field, langued gu. CREST: Unicorn's head colored gold. MOTTO: Qui semina vertu raccoglia fama. (Who sows virtue gathers fame)
X. HENRY GALE (1744 - 1821) was born in 1744 to Roger Henry and Catherine Crowe Gale. On 4/3/1779 at St. Andrew's, Holborn, he married MARY DALTON (1750 - 1845), the only daughter of Francis Dalton, Esq. and his wife Mary Tasker Dalton
of Hauxwell Hall in North Yorkshire. Henry Gale inherited Scruton Hall and was granted a version of his father's arms. At his death on 5/27/1821 his eldest daughter, Harriett Gale Coore, assumed the arms of her father impaled with those of her
husband and in turn inherited Scruton Hall. Harriet Gale Coore died on 12/15/1839 and Scruton Hall descended to her son Henry Foster (1/18/1820 - ??) and his wife Augusta Caroline Milbank and then to her grandson Henry Mark Gale Coore, Esq.
(6/6/1842 - ??), who was one of six principal landowners in Scruton in 1890. Their family estate was Firby Hall, Bedale.
Holy Trinity Church, Gotheromgate/Goodramgate
Acomb Grange, re-built in 1694 on the site of the original manor house
Gilling Castle, seat of the Fairfax Family
Reverend Thomas Gale (http://www.milesbarton.com/Sold_Items/Reverend_Thomas_Gale_1636-1702__105.html)
William Stukeley, Portrait: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Stukeley)
St. Michael's All Saints, Linton-in-Craven
All Saints Church, Kirkby Overblow
(Photo, Michael Ely, licensed for reuse under the
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 License)
Church of St. Helen's, Ainderby Steeple, 13th Century
Lawkland Hall, photo courtesy of Matthew Emmott
Kiplin Hall, a Jacobean country house near Richmond in Northern Yorkshire, was built in 1623 by George Calvert, 1st Lord Baltimore and Secretary of State for King James I. In 1622 Calvert, whose
mother had been imprisoned at York as a Catholic recusant, resigned his position when Catholicism was outlawed in England. He also became interested in the American colonies and was an investor in
the London Virginia Company in 1609. In 1632 he received a Charter from King Charles I and founded the colony of Maryland as a refuge for English Catholics. After his death his son Cecil, 2nd Lord
Baltimore, became its first proprietor and named one of its counties for his wife, Anne Arundel.
Christopher Crowe purchased Kiplin Hall from his stepson, Charles Calvert, 5th Lord Baltimore. The Crowe family held the property for over 100 years and at the end of their ownership it consisted of
4,500 acres. Christopher Crowe became the British Consul in Livorno (Leghorn), Italy and acted as a maritime agent. Charlotte Lee Crowe died in 1721 at Woodford Hall in Essex, and Christopher died on
11/9/1749 and was buried at St. Mary's, Woodford, next to Lady Charlotte.
Kiplin Hall's estate papers illuminate associations between the Gales, Crowes and Calverts and their interest in colonial trade. In 1722 they contain references to the Calverts, Robert Crowe, George
Crowe, Robert Gale of Scruton, Roger Gale of Scruton and son Roger Henry Gale. The papers also contain the will of one Edward Garthwaite of Shackleford, Surrey, dated 11/30/1780 and probated
3/12/1795. It mentioned William Gale, Esq. Garthwaite's attorney in Jamaica, who was to receive 100£ for a ring. Mitford Crowe, Christopher's elder brother, held several important posts in Barbados,
England and Spain. [SEE CHAPTER 6, Gales of Jamaica]
FOLLOW THIS LINK FOR A VIDEO ON KIPLIN HALL by the UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND: http://video.mpt.tv/video/2334335452/
KIPLIN HALL, Photo by D. S. Pugh
The family of Gale, which has contributed so much to adorn the list of British
Antiquaries, was of importance in the North and East Ridings of Yorkshire, early in the
sixteenth century…James Gale, the first named in the pedigree, was seated at Thirntoft,
near Scruton, in the hundred of East Giling and North Riding, anno 1523. His son and
heir, Oliver Gale, of Thirntoft, wedded Ellen Marshall, of Richmond, and had, with
another son, James, who married, and resided some time in Spain, George Gale, esq.
lord mayor of York…He subsequently settled in Ireland, whence his descendants during
the rebellion there transplanted themselves to Whitehaven… (Burke, A Genealogy and
Heraldic History of the Commoners of Great Britain and Ireland, Vol. II)